Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe and I followed it exactly. We were both very pleased with the results. Heartily recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I have grilled Cornish Hens many times but this the first time I stuffed them with rice. They turned out to be the best I've ever done. I only changed a couple of things. I used half long grain and half wild rice as I wasn't sure how my kid would like straight wild rice. I also added chopped celery to the rice. This recipe was a big hit and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The cornish hens were on sale so I thought waht the heck -- I've never cooked hens before. This recipe made me look like a gourmet chef! The hens were nice and juicy and tender. Real butter is the way to go - don't skimp. Add extra herbs if you feel like it. If you are able to, always boil rice and pastas in a broth that compliments your dish -- In this case I used chicken broth. Delicious, simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very nice dish, so tender and moist. I changed it up a bit. Instead of butter, I used olive oil. I didn't use almonds or a bouillon cube in the rice. I used long grain white rice because that's all I had on hand but would love to try it with the wild rice next time as that sounds delicious too. In the rice stuffing I made, I used diced carrots, zucchini, onion, and a tbsp of chopped cilantro. Atop the hens with olive oil and salt, I added freshly ground black pepper and a slight sprinkling of Cajun herbs and spices. And when I baked it, I didn't cover it at all, but baked for an hour at 350 degrees F, and then increased the temp to 400 degrees F the last ten minutes of cooking time. I served it alongside gently boiled potato medallions with sour cream sauce. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
A new favorite with everyone. Definitely use the advice from "dragngirle" review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Simple flavor, but this turned out much better than I expected. I broiled the hens for the last 10-15 minutes to make the skin more crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This was a great recipe. My boyfriend, who had never tried cornish game hen even liked it. I did the following: Added a tbsp. each of mushroom & celery & 1/8 tsp. of garlic (in jar). Also threw in ½ tsp. fresh rosemary leaves in step 1. Added pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, & poultry seasoning in step 3. Turned heat down to 350 degrees 15 minutes after start. At step 4, I added ½ cup chicken broth (for 2 servings). Served with additional rice (was a kroeger wild rice with seasoning package box), steamed broccoli, & green beans (from can) with butter, salt, & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This was the first time I made cornish hens and this recipe was awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
The hens turned out pretty good. I added mushrooms, onion, celery to white rice as well as the chicken broth. I also added seasoned rice and chicken with a little poultry season, salt and pepper. I basted the hens with more broth after the first 1/2 hour and each 1/2 hour after. The rice was very tasty and the hens were juicy and flavorful. I saved the leftovers and made rice muchroom soup. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States