Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was a very nice dish. The hens came out tender & moist and the rice was a great combination. I used a long grain & wild rice mix and just prepared it according to the package (I didn't add almonds or onions). I brushed the outside of the hens with olive oil instead of butter. They ended up being done after about 1 hour total, so be sure to check them before cooking for 1.5 hrs or they may get overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I don't know what kind of wild rice you guys used, but I followed the directions, and the wild rice did NOT fluff up the way it's supposed to. I am disappointed with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! I used a little less butter than called for and rubbed the birds with thyme and rosemary prior to stuffing which added a nice subtle flavor to the rice. My picky boyfriend devoured this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I had so much fun making this!!! My mom used to make cornish hens when I was a little girl but this is the first time I made it myself. I used white rice instead of wild rice, but it was sooo good!!! I had yams and cheese bread on the side. Great an easy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLHESSED
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I loved this recipe. My wife asked me to make it again and again. So easy and so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mac
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I cooked a single hen using 1-1/2 servings (3/8 cup) of brown rice with the almonds, onion, a little fresh rosemary, one minced garlic clove and two medium white mushrooms; then added 1 cup water, chicken bouillon and salt (go easy on the salt). This is a very good rice recipe. I stuffed this into the hen (a perfect fit) and cooked as per the instructions. I made sure the hen was brushed under the skin with a little lemon juice, salt (again: go easy) and the melted butter. In my oven I cooked covered for 30 minutes and then again for the last 15 minutes as the hen was browning nicely (see submitted photo). An hour and one-half was just right at 400 F. Thanks mommy… for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clovershoney
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
These hens were DELICIOUS! I also followed some of the modifications suggested by other reviewers. I used some "brown wild rice" that I picked up from Trader Joe's a while back. I added minced garlic in with the onions. I left out the almonds simply because I didn't have any. I did not salt the birds as suggested in the recipe. It ends up salty enough, I couldn't imagine adding more salt. For the outside, I melted about 2 tablespoons of butter (not 1/4 cup), some minced garlic, juice from a fresh squeezed lemon, and some basil. It came out SOO good! The hens looked beautiful. I made it a few days ago and my girlfriend and I have been craving it ever since! The rice is certainly good enough to eat on its own. I think mushroom would also go nicely into the rice so I may try that next time. This recipe was easy and SOOOO GOOD! Defintely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This came out perfect...it came out so great you'd never know it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is a faboulas recipe! I make this every Christmas and there is never any left:) Would reccomed this to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
My first attempt ever at CGHen. THANK YOU! Super yummy. I took out a lot of the fat, added some chicken broth to the pan to keep it all moist. I am now HOOKED on the Hen :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States