Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was my first time cooking cornish game hens and I have to say this recipe was very helpful and turned out delicious. The rice tasted amazing although it did have to cook much longer than 45 minutes to get tender. My hens actually cooked about 30 minutes less than the recipe called for so be sure to keep an eye on them. All in all, this is a great recipe and was very popular with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I had never made cornish game hens before. This recipe was very easy with simple ingredients that I already had on hand. It's lovely as is. I've also added some extra fresh rosemary that I had on hand into the hen cavity and added a little bit to the butter used to baste the skin. My husband loves it everytime I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I also took the advise of other reviewers and used more spices. I used celery and cayenne pepper with the rice also paprika on top of the hens and some chicken broth to the bottom of the pan. I always turn the breast down for cooking, this makes the breast juicy and flavorful. Great base recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VScott
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These hens turned out really bland for my tastes. I did add a little paprika on top for coloring and that was all the flavor this dish had. I don't think I'll make this again without using more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was an excellent recipe! This was our Christmas dinner and my hubby is a notoriously picky eater and he ate everything on his plate! I didn't add the almond slices because my best friend doesn't handle nuts well and I used 1 cup chicken I make from scratch instead of the one cup water and chicken bullion, I also took a few tips from the comments and added celery and onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Lambert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Everybody loved this one. I did take other users advice and add mushroons, clery, garlic cloves to the rice, and rosemary to the rice stuffing. I also added lemon pepper, oregano, poultry seasoning,pepper,to the outside of the hen. I also added butter and chicken broth to the bottom of the pan for basting. This did need to be cooked about 1/2 hour longer than stated. I pulled off a leg and it was blody and pink so I cooked longer. Neddless to say it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Made this as a Valenitines dinner for my wife. We both enjoyed. Made minor adjustments to the recipe to suite our tastes. Very good recipe. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
very easy and delicious. I have made this several times, and I always just use, regular white rice and put large chunks of carrot and onion around the cornish hens. The hens, rice, and roasted veggies are always so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was really good especially the almond slivers with the rice. I added mushrooms and cooked my hens in a turkey bag it made them really juicy and tender. I also cut a slit in the bag and let me cook for 10 minutes at the end. Thanks for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States