Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
The cornish hens were on sale so I thought waht the heck -- I've never cooked hens before. This recipe made me look like a gourmet chef! The hens were nice and juicy and tender. Real butter is the way to go - don't skimp. Add extra herbs if you feel like it. If you are able to, always boil rice and pastas in a broth that compliments your dish -- In this case I used chicken broth. Delicious, simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Very nice dish, so tender and moist. I changed it up a bit. Instead of butter, I used olive oil. I didn't use almonds or a bouillon cube in the rice. I used long grain white rice because that's all I had on hand but would love to try it with the wild rice next time as that sounds delicious too. In the rice stuffing I made, I used diced carrots, zucchini, onion, and a tbsp of chopped cilantro. Atop the hens with olive oil and salt, I added freshly ground black pepper and a slight sprinkling of Cajun herbs and spices. And when I baked it, I didn't cover it at all, but baked for an hour at 350 degrees F, and then increased the temp to 400 degrees F the last ten minutes of cooking time. I served it alongside gently boiled potato medallions with sour cream sauce. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
A new favorite with everyone. Definitely use the advice from "dragngirle" review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Simple flavor, but this turned out much better than I expected. I broiled the hens for the last 10-15 minutes to make the skin more crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This was a great recipe. My boyfriend, who had never tried cornish game hen even liked it. I did the following: Added a tbsp. each of mushroom & celery & 1/8 tsp. of garlic (in jar). Also threw in ½ tsp. fresh rosemary leaves in step 1. Added pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, lemon pepper, & poultry seasoning in step 3. Turned heat down to 350 degrees 15 minutes after start. At step 4, I added ½ cup chicken broth (for 2 servings). Served with additional rice (was a kroeger wild rice with seasoning package box), steamed broccoli, & green beans (from can) with butter, salt, & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This was the first time I made cornish hens and this recipe was awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
The hens turned out pretty good. I added mushrooms, onion, celery to white rice as well as the chicken broth. I also added seasoned rice and chicken with a little poultry season, salt and pepper. I basted the hens with more broth after the first 1/2 hour and each 1/2 hour after. The rice was very tasty and the hens were juicy and flavorful. I saved the leftovers and made rice muchroom soup. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Very, very good. I added celery and cooked the rice in chicken broth. I will serve this many times again over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was great and pretty simple. I rinsed and salt/peppered my chickens before stuffing them and I added a little lemon and rosemary to the butter. I put raisins in the rice like another reviewer suggested and it was great! (I also basted chickens before the last half hour) Make sure to follow the instructions on the rice package--mine took way longer than the recipe said and the rice was a little chewy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
The rice stuffing is awesome!!!! The game hen was kind of boring but good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States