Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I had so much fun making this!!! My mom used to make cornish hens when I was a little girl but this is the first time I made it myself. I used white rice instead of wild rice, but it was sooo good!!! I had yams and cheese bread on the side. Great an easy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLHESSED
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I loved this recipe. My wife asked me to make it again and again. So easy and so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mac
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is an EXCELLENT recipe. I cooked a single hen using 1-1/2 servings (3/8 cup) of brown rice with the almonds, onion, a little fresh rosemary, one minced garlic clove and two medium white mushrooms; then added 1 cup water, chicken bouillon and salt (go easy on the salt). This is a very good rice recipe. I stuffed this into the hen (a perfect fit) and cooked as per the instructions. I made sure the hen was brushed under the skin with a little lemon juice, salt (again: go easy) and the melted butter. In my oven I cooked covered for 30 minutes and then again for the last 15 minutes as the hen was browning nicely (see submitted photo). An hour and one-half was just right at 400 F. Thanks mommy… for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clovershoney
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
These hens were DELICIOUS! I also followed some of the modifications suggested by other reviewers. I used some "brown wild rice" that I picked up from Trader Joe's a while back. I added minced garlic in with the onions. I left out the almonds simply because I didn't have any. I did not salt the birds as suggested in the recipe. It ends up salty enough, I couldn't imagine adding more salt. For the outside, I melted about 2 tablespoons of butter (not 1/4 cup), some minced garlic, juice from a fresh squeezed lemon, and some basil. It came out SOO good! The hens looked beautiful. I made it a few days ago and my girlfriend and I have been craving it ever since! The rice is certainly good enough to eat on its own. I think mushroom would also go nicely into the rice so I may try that next time. This recipe was easy and SOOOO GOOD! Defintely a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This came out perfect...it came out so great you'd never know it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is a faboulas recipe! I make this every Christmas and there is never any left:) Would reccomed this to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
My first attempt ever at CGHen. THANK YOU! Super yummy. I took out a lot of the fat, added some chicken broth to the pan to keep it all moist. I am now HOOKED on the Hen :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Hello! We have updated the cook time for the rice in this recipe. We hope this helps with some of the problems that have been noted in the reviews. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was my first time trying Cornish Game Hens and it won't be my last. This recipe was so easy to follow. I didn't have any wild rice on hand, so I cheated with a box of Uncle Ben's that I had on hand and it worked out beautifully. My kids loved being able to have little drumsticks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2dylan&morgan
Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
25 minutes for wild rice is way underestimated. I ended up adding instant rice to soak up the liquid. Way too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States