Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
These hens turned out really bland for my tastes. I did add a little paprika on top for coloring and that was all the flavor this dish had. I don't think I'll make this again without using more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was an excellent recipe! This was our Christmas dinner and my hubby is a notoriously picky eater and he ate everything on his plate! I didn't add the almond slices because my best friend doesn't handle nuts well and I used 1 cup chicken I make from scratch instead of the one cup water and chicken bullion, I also took a few tips from the comments and added celery and onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Lambert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Everybody loved this one. I did take other users advice and add mushroons, clery, garlic cloves to the rice, and rosemary to the rice stuffing. I also added lemon pepper, oregano, poultry seasoning,pepper,to the outside of the hen. I also added butter and chicken broth to the bottom of the pan for basting. This did need to be cooked about 1/2 hour longer than stated. I pulled off a leg and it was blody and pink so I cooked longer. Neddless to say it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Made this as a Valenitines dinner for my wife. We both enjoyed. Made minor adjustments to the recipe to suite our tastes. Very good recipe. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAYGOOD21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
very easy and delicious. I have made this several times, and I always just use, regular white rice and put large chunks of carrot and onion around the cornish hens. The hens, rice, and roasted veggies are always so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was really good especially the almond slivers with the rice. I added mushrooms and cooked my hens in a turkey bag it made them really juicy and tender. I also cut a slit in the bag and let me cook for 10 minutes at the end. Thanks for your help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edubird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was a very nice dish. The hens came out tender & moist and the rice was a great combination. I used a long grain & wild rice mix and just prepared it according to the package (I didn't add almonds or onions). I brushed the outside of the hens with olive oil instead of butter. They ended up being done after about 1 hour total, so be sure to check them before cooking for 1.5 hrs or they may get overdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I don't know what kind of wild rice you guys used, but I followed the directions, and the wild rice did NOT fluff up the way it's supposed to. I am disappointed with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was absolutely delicious! I used a little less butter than called for and rubbed the birds with thyme and rosemary prior to stuffing which added a nice subtle flavor to the rice. My picky boyfriend devoured this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States