Cornish Game Hens with Rice Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I am going to give this 4 stars until I make it again. The hens were amazing, however the rice didn't turn out. I doubled it so used 2/3 cup wild rice, 2 cups chicken broth, 1 tsp salt. It was too salty, the rice didn't fluff. Instead it sat in an oil slick in the pan, and didn't soak up the broth. I'm hoping to cut down the saltiness of the rice with some lemon after the first 30 minutes are up. I basically drained the rice and stuffed the hens. I reserved the rice water/butter to pour a bit over the hens while cooking. Again, not sure what I did wrong but 'next time' I will probably cut the broth down to 1 1/4 cups when I double the wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
The rice was ok but the cornish hen meat was great! I did make a gravy with thr drippings and dipping that with the meat was the best part. Just added flour to half of fhe cooled drippings, pour remaining drippings, and heat until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Jimmy Hartline
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Was very good changed it quite a bit added tumeric tablespoon of ginger used fried rice and carrots with original seasonings broiled last four minutest awesome crust on hens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy Hartline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
We enjoyed the rice stuffing; I'd recommend making a double batch of it and saving whatever doesn't fit in the hens to serve on the side. As for the hens themselves, I left them covered with foil for the entire cooking time, and they came out tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Super easy and super delicious!! I added extra salt, pepper and chopped up rosemary to the sauce before cooking. After cooking I blended the sauce in the blender then reduced it. Amazingly DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is perfect !! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this exact recipe for over 30 years for Christmas dinner. Even when my six kids were all little, it was fast and elegant. No dishes to pass around the crowded table, and everyone got their favorite part (white meat, dark meat, breast, thigh, leg)and ALL the kids got a wishbone (unlike Thanksgiving, when they fight over it). I always bought 2 more birds than needed since they are inexpensive and fast to prepare, so I was always covered in case we had an unexpected guest. I learned to prepare the rice recipe according to the number of guests, so there is plenty of extra rice (for 2 people, double it; for 6 people, multiply all ingredients x6). Add a vegetable (green bean casserole or candied yams), rolls, 2 candles and a bottle of wine, and it is such a lovely meal that you didn't spend all day cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added two dashes of cinnamon to the basting melted butter. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is delicious and different from hum drum chicken and rice. Even my husband, who prefers everything fried, likes it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The timing was spot-on for my two Perdue hens. I didn't use the wild rice recipe, however, but rather Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice blend for the stuffing, to which I added chopped onion, celery and carrot (delicious). Brushed with the melted butter and sprinkled with poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States