Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Awesome recipe, great as is. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This recipe was just amazing. I felt like a chef when my family was eating it. They couldnt stop ooing and awing! I used fresh lemons and rosemary from my yard which made it even better. Just a hint : be sure to use just 1/4 lemon in each hen. If not it will be a little too tangy... Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
If I was buying a home and my real estate agent took me to a home that had the aroma of this dish, I would buy the home! The garlic was to die for. We really enjoyed the melding of the flavors of the recipe; they were just perfect. The only thing I have to fix is that because it is summer, I decided to use our toaster/broiler/rotisserie oven to keep it cooler in the house. I did use a roasting pan. The outside of the hens browned very quickly, so I tented them with foil. Even after cooking for the required time, the hens were not done on the inside. This could have been because of my oven, but after reading other reviews, I'm not so sure. Next time, (yes, yes definitely a next time) I will cook on a lower heat for a longer time after the initial roasting. 5 stars for flavor and 4 stars for having to adjust the times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was excellent. You could really taste the complex flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is my new signature dish! This was a fabulous recipe with great flavour. The sauce/gravy is absolutely amazing. I doubled the wine and chicken broth to 2/3 cup each to make more sauce as recommended but otherwise followed the recipe as is but added 10 minutes to each of the 25 minute times. I also added gravy/water to the sauce to thicken a little. This is really an easy recipe with high end results that will impress your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very delicious. The chicken was so moist. The only thing I did different was a put 3 cloves of garlic in each hen. Served with baked asparagus and even my 5 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Tried this tonight. Did not have lemons or fresh rosemary, so ... I sprinkled lots of lemon pepper in the chest cavity, and then I made a paste of softened butter, lemon pepper, and ground rosemary and spread that under the skin over the breast. I listened to the other reviewers and poured a little of the wine mixture in the pan from the start. Oh, and I used butter instead of olive oil. We loved it - in fact my partner wants to have it again later this week, using a regular chicken so he can eat more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Wonderful - doubled the liquids for the sauce as suggested by others, used a little lemon butter under the breast skin, cooked just two of them in a cast iron skillet. A note - the garlic cloves should be peeled, and they cook down into a sweet mild flavor. If you really like garlic, use garlic infused olive oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
great flavor! only complaint was that it smoked quite a bit in the oven and made the whole house a little smokey. otherwise good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
What a delish recipe! Cooked two hens for two adults and one child but kept the gravy measurements the same. I added cornstarch to thicken the gravy because we are bread dippers. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States