Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This chicken was flavorless, but moist. For all of the work that went into it, I was expecting better results. I would not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I was looking for a new way to cook cornish game hens and this fit the bill perfectly! I won't use any other way from here on out. My husband loved them! I did stuff butter, garlic, and rosemary under the skin and added chicken broth to the pan so the garlic wouldn't burn. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I only did two hens and cut the garlic down to 12 cloves. It was excellent, will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Simple to make, yet elegant and delicious. It made me seem like a better cook than I really am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Love love love this recipe! So easy to make and so delicious! We made this for Easter dinner and it was a huge hit. Great flavor and awesome gravy. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Madson
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I searched for a long time for a Cornish Hen recipes since I had never made them before, and did I find a winner! It was so easy, flavorful, and juicy! I did make a few modifications, I used 2 hens since it's just my husband and I, In the cavity of each bird I put a quarter lemon, 2 cloves of garlic and 2 sprigs of fresh rosemary. I read the recipe wrong and actually rubbed 1 tbsp of olive oil on each hen, but still came out good. I then put 1 tbsp butter under the skin on each breast, along with 2 sprigs of the fresh rosemary. I sprinkled some poultry seasoning on each hen along with a lemon slice on the breast and then placed them in my roasting pan on top of cubed yukon gold potatoes. After roasting I took 2/3 c. of cheap pinot grigio, 2/3 c. chicken broth, and about 5 cloves of minced garlic and used that to pour over the hens and baste with. Holy cats was this great! My whole house smelt amazing, and the potatoes were the best I'd ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was my first time making Cornish hens and these were amazing. I can't wait to make this for company. I made the recipe as is, but halved it. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma-Mangia
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This dish came out amazing, the whole family loved it. I added some more wine to the garlic & pan drippings and then hit it with a hand stick mixer to purée it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma-Mangia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was a delicious meal. I upped it to make six Cornish hens for a crowd. Instead of whole garlic cloves I finely diced the garlic and used as directed. I read other reviews about the garlic burning during the initial high heat roasting so I did add in the chicken broth & wine for the entire cooking time and my garlic did not burn at all. Otherwise I made this just as directed, adding in about a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce. This is a great recipe and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is incredible - thank you so much for sharing!! I did not change the recipe one bit!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States