Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was fantastic. Would be just as good with a Chicken. I too put some chicken broth in the pan so the garlic didn't burn and used three hens as there are only three of us. Other than that, made exactly as directly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I did not have a Cornish Game Hen so used a small whole roasting chicken instead. No fresh lemons so used a little lemon juice instead. Added an onion as we'll to the cavity. I also added broth to prevent the garlic from burning initially. It was delicious! The sauce was so awesome! I mashed the garlic in and the flavour was awesome! Highly recommended. Will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieV
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
My husband loved it. Peeling that many garlic cloves got annoying. It was a good dinner but I was hoping for fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Ok. Flavor didn't really get into meat. A little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anubis_star
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made this tonight for christmas eve, first time making dinner for the family. I honestly don't think I've ever had cornish hens before, but it was a HIT with my family. My brother-in-law who said he had always hated them in the past really enjoyed this. I did make some changes. Since there were 6 adults and a toddler I made 9 hens, exactly what would fit in my king size roasting pan. First I melted some butter and minced some of the garlic, mixing it together. Each hen got a spoonful of that inside, then I squeezed a lemon slice (I quartered my lemons)inside the cavity and put that in, then my rosemary, I used several sprigs in each one, then another lemon wedge. Then I put some garlic and butter under the skin along with a couple thin slices of lemon. I added broth to the pan as well, I'm not sure how much since I eyeballed it but probably about 1/4-1/2 an inch deep in the pan (a lot haha). Since I had SO much garlic and the pan was crammed full I just threw a handful of cloves underneath each chicken and the garlic just floated around. I also doubled the wine and broth sauce I added at 350 degress. I read some people complain about it taking a lot longer and since I figured I had so much more I did 30 minutes at 450 degrees and then when it was down to 350 I was checking the temp every 10 minutes as I basted it. Honestly it was done within another 20 minutes, and I could of followed the recommended time and they would of been perfect. I am high altitude BTW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
turned out good. Sauce was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is the best recipe ever! The hen was so flavorful and tender. I didn't have lemons so I used dried lemon rind seasoning instead; everything else was the same. It was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Amazing!!! I added thyme and doubled the sauce. Delicious- def a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeezNeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Quite delicious especially with those whole garlic cloves. I made mashed potatoes to serve with the hens as well, and with the sauce and garlic cloves everything was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
After 40 years, I finally found a cornish hen recipe I'll keep! I followed suggestions and made a paste of EVOO, butter, garlic, lemon and rosemary in the am, then put under the skin just before baking. I put garlic with lemon and rosemary in the cavity and poured broth and wine in the pan to keep the garlic from burning and also to have the broth pick up the garlic flavor. I crushed the garlic in the sauce to put over the hens and also to spread on a baguette. My only regret is that I made only 2 and have no leftovers.15 other allrecipe.com entries are now trashed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 646) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States