Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this cornish hen recipe, however it needed more time as they looked raw so I put them in the broiler for and xtra 15 minutes and they game out excellent and not dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Amazing flavor, especially if you get a quality hen. Almost 5 star, but needed more sauce than the recipe calls for to get any "gravy" out of it. But it doesn't need it honestly. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Kinna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I loved making these cornish game hens from start to finish. This recipe was not only easy, but it required very few ingredients, all of which I happened to have. I prepared my roasting pan by spraying some olive oil spray, put the hens in for about 20 minutes, then added the garlic cloves which I cut in half. The lemon inside not only added an incredible flavor but it made my whole house smell sooo good!! Combined with the rosemary, the lemon was perfect for game hens. Total time they were left them in the oven was about an hour & 10 minutes. I basted the hens every now and then, and once they were brown on the outside, took them out and added a touch more rosemary. These were absolutely delicious, and I can't wait to make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
We made this for the main dish for Thanksgiving this year and it turned out amazing. You absolutely must buy a roasting pan to cook these, however, as a trial run in a baking pan did not turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These were fantastic! While I did need to increase the cooking time by and additional 15 or so minutes, I didn't need to make any other changes. Based on similar Cornish hen recipes, it seems many other people have had to do the same. So don't make this if you're in a rush as it seems the time may vary...but even if I had wait a little extra, totally worth it! Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
It was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed this recipe as close as I could for what I had in the house. I made 2 hens but left the sauce the same. I didn't have fresh lemon so I poured a little juice in the cavity. I only had dried rosemary. I put 1 garlic clove in each cavity. The hen was moist and flavorful. When I made the gravy I pressed the cloves and added corn starch to thicken it. The gravy was delicious! We poured it over the hens and over mashed potatoes. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I've never cooked any bird. This was my first because I was showing off to my wife. We both loved it. I'm glad I took advice from the reviews and prepared the full ingredients for only 2 birds. It was just enough. If you do 4 birds I would double the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This had a great flavor! I made no changes, except only cooked two birds. I also put the other half of the lemon in with the garlic cloves. My only problem was the skin of the birds didn't crisp. I will have to find how to fix that, because I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a new favorite for us! My oldest son, who hates gravy, even was sopping it up! I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used dried; absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States