Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I have used this recipe a handful of times. The hens cook perfectly and are always moist. Very easy to prepare but sure to impress your family and/or guests! Thank you for posting this - I have passed this on to my aunt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Been making this for years! We absolutely love this recipe. Company always enjoys it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Have made this several times, the only thing I do different is I sprinkle crushed garlic around the birds. I buy crushed garlic in a large bottle because I use it so much. It goes well with a wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiny72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! I made 2 hens that I placed on a rack in my roasting pan. I used garlic flavored grapeseed oil (higher burn point then olive oil) and stuffed a few pieces of chopped garlic under the skin of each hen. I did not use rosemary because I don't like it...I stuff the cavities with lemon, minced garlic and onion. I doubled the broth and wine (Pinot Grigio) and added broth to bottom of pan. The only error is I did not use low sodium broth so the gravy was a little salty to me but still a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Awesome recipe, great as is. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This recipe was just amazing. I felt like a chef when my family was eating it. They couldnt stop ooing and awing! I used fresh lemons and rosemary from my yard which made it even better. Just a hint : be sure to use just 1/4 lemon in each hen. If not it will be a little too tangy... Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
If I was buying a home and my real estate agent took me to a home that had the aroma of this dish, I would buy the home! The garlic was to die for. We really enjoyed the melding of the flavors of the recipe; they were just perfect. The only thing I have to fix is that because it is summer, I decided to use our toaster/broiler/rotisserie oven to keep it cooler in the house. I did use a roasting pan. The outside of the hens browned very quickly, so I tented them with foil. Even after cooking for the required time, the hens were not done on the inside. This could have been because of my oven, but after reading other reviews, I'm not so sure. Next time, (yes, yes definitely a next time) I will cook on a lower heat for a longer time after the initial roasting. 5 stars for flavor and 4 stars for having to adjust the times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was excellent. You could really taste the complex flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is my new signature dish! This was a fabulous recipe with great flavour. The sauce/gravy is absolutely amazing. I doubled the wine and chicken broth to 2/3 cup each to make more sauce as recommended but otherwise followed the recipe as is but added 10 minutes to each of the 25 minute times. I also added gravy/water to the sauce to thicken a little. This is really an easy recipe with high end results that will impress your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very delicious. The chicken was so moist. The only thing I did different was a put 3 cloves of garlic in each hen. Served with baked asparagus and even my 5 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States