Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
very yummy. . .The kids will love them...because when I was young, my sister and I looked forward to Mom making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Excellent recipe. My British husband loved these. Added lamb to the mix, and omitted the msg (couldn't find). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I made a "somewhat" lighter version of these pasties, using very lean ground beef and pork and no lard in the pastry.(Crisco instead) I also eliminated the MSG (allergies) and the pasties were delicious. I packed them fresh out of the oven and went to the beach (west coast of Northern California) to watch the sunset. We found a lone picnic table, set up our meal and the pasties were a bigger hit than the sunset. Everyone raved about them. I am from Michigan so when I read this recipe I knew it was authentic. The rutabaga really gives them that touch of flavor that reminds you of the Upper Peninsula. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I will use it again and again. They definitely need to have milk brushed over them before baking...makes for a lovely, soft golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This recipe was delicious and they reminded me of our vacations in northern Michigan! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I had developed a strong need to eat a real pastie. Found this recipe, used it, and WOW, it was great! Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Very good, but I will use a little less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I have made these for my Inlaws once while they were here on a visit and now they request them everytime they come. Everyone I have made them for has loved them even the kids. I haven't tryed freezing them yet because everytime I make them they are gone. I don't know if I should freeze them before or after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
My mother-in-law is a Finn from upper Michigan where pasties are practically an art form, so I had big shoes to fill! I decided on this recipe for my first attempt and they turned out GREAT!! I substituted onion powder for the chopped onions and omitted the MSG (allergies). The only snag that I ran into was due to the size of the dough rectangles. In my opinion, 6"x8" is too small and made for difficult sealing. I ended up making larger but fewer pasties than the recipe called for. They freeze beautifully! I just cooked 'em, cooled 'em, threw 'em into Ziploc baggies and tossed them in the freezer. This recipe is a definite keeper!! (Btw, my husband informs me that the only proper way to eat a pasty is with ketchup. He HATES it when my son and I use BBQ sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I'm a college student and am not able to enjoy homecooked food often. On a day off, I made these pasties for my friends who have never tried them. They enjoyed them a lot and they were easy to make. Now I have more requests than I can handle! They tasted just like they tasted when I was growing up. The recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This is the first time that I prepared the recipe and found it very easy to use. I used venison instead of beef and omitted the MSG. I got rave reviews from all who tried them and believe me, this will be a "keeper" in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States