Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
very yummy. . .The kids will love them...because when I was young, my sister and I looked forward to Mom making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Goodman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
This recipe was delicious and they reminded me of our vacations in northern Michigan! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I had developed a strong need to eat a real pastie. Found this recipe, used it, and WOW, it was great! Thanks Ruth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This is the first time that I prepared the recipe and found it very easy to use. I used venison instead of beef and omitted the MSG. I got rave reviews from all who tried them and believe me, this will be a "keeper" in my recipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
Very good, but I will use a little less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
I have made these for my Inlaws once while they were here on a visit and now they request them everytime they come. Everyone I have made them for has loved them even the kids. I haven't tryed freezing them yet because everytime I make them they are gone. I don't know if I should freeze them before or after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Excellent recipe. My British husband loved these. Added lamb to the mix, and omitted the msg (couldn't find). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
My mother-in-law is a Finn from upper Michigan where pasties are practically an art form, so I had big shoes to fill! I decided on this recipe for my first attempt and they turned out GREAT!! I substituted onion powder for the chopped onions and omitted the MSG (allergies). The only snag that I ran into was due to the size of the dough rectangles. In my opinion, 6"x8" is too small and made for difficult sealing. I ended up making larger but fewer pasties than the recipe called for. They freeze beautifully! I just cooked 'em, cooled 'em, threw 'em into Ziploc baggies and tossed them in the freezer. This recipe is a definite keeper!! (Btw, my husband informs me that the only proper way to eat a pasty is with ketchup. He HATES it when my son and I use BBQ sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I made a "somewhat" lighter version of these pasties, using very lean ground beef and pork and no lard in the pastry.(Crisco instead) I also eliminated the MSG (allergies) and the pasties were delicious. I packed them fresh out of the oven and went to the beach (west coast of Northern California) to watch the sunset. We found a lone picnic table, set up our meal and the pasties were a bigger hit than the sunset. Everyone raved about them. I am from Michigan so when I read this recipe I knew it was authentic. The rutabaga really gives them that touch of flavor that reminds you of the Upper Peninsula. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, I will use it again and again. They definitely need to have milk brushed over them before baking...makes for a lovely, soft golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I'm a college student and am not able to enjoy homecooked food often. On a day off, I made these pasties for my friends who have never tried them. They enjoyed them a lot and they were easy to make. Now I have more requests than I can handle! They tasted just like they tasted when I was growing up. The recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States