Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
We added chopped basil and would suggest a medium-flavored sausage to add a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good recipe minus the MSG. come on cook with real food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Takes me back to the U.P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My dad's from the U.P. and made these for me when I was a kid. These tasted exactly like I remember them. The only thing I omitted was the MSG and this recipe made 12 good sized pasties. I'll making a larger batch next time to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My whole family loved these! My husband and I are from Michigan, so these were a treat! I ate it with gravy and my husband had his with ketchup. My kids just ate them up! We followed the recipe exactly, minus the msg. I ended up with 7 large pasties and 1 small one. We couldn't fit 1 1/2 cups of filling in each (more like 1/2 a cup), so we had quite a bit of leftovers that we just fried it up and ate. Next time I will add a bit of butter to my dough, or butter flavored Crisco, to give it a bit more flavor, and double it (dough) so we have leftovers and enough dough to use all the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I almost hate to do this, but I did change this recipe quite a bit, but I used this one as a base recipe. Here's what I did to simplify it and make my kids happy: used store-bought crust; omitted rutabaga, pork (didn't have any) and MSG. I was wary of cooking the meat raw in the dough, but I had nothing to worry about. They turned out great. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I use whatever I have on hand for the filling, saving leftover meat and veggies in separate ziploc until I have enough. Hubby loves them with venison filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great recipe! I am now pestered on a regular basis to make pasties! I use beef suet from my butcher for the crust because that's the way I was taught by my husband's Cornish grandmother. Otherwise, I follow this exactly. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEliz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Our first time trying these and they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Awesome and I am a Michigander who always gets pasties when in the UP. I did leave out the MSG, just didn't see a need for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States