Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These are just like Grandma Stimaki's! I made these for the guys at the fire house and they loved them. I used the calculator to double the recipe and it worked great. The only bad thing about this recipe is that now I have to make them for the guys every other Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
So good the wife is worried about her turn to cook. Can't wait to play with the recipe. Just like deer hunting in the yoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
We saw Cornish pasties recently on TV and, living in TX, had to make them in order to try. Never cooked or eaten rutabaga, I followed the advice and doubled the amount. Pasties weren’t dry at all and I used lean meat and no butter. Make sure to add the bullion into the mixture. I let the mixture sit in a fridge for a few minutes and veggies released some more juice. I will be making them again with leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used only ground lean beef (no pork), frozen hashbrowns (that we thawed prior to using) and frozen onions and carrots that I had in the freezer (already chopped/grated), added some worcestershire and didn't use any msg and they came out very good and very close to the Lawry's that we get up in Marquette when we go to the U.P. Had to make more of the pastry though as I ran out before all the filler had been used up. The extras that we didn't eat went into the freezer for a quick meal in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My husband is from Michigan and has been trying to find a real Michigan pasties recipe since we married! Finally, after 6 years, and moving to Germany, I found him the perfect recipe! Just like home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by German Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Excellent recipe. My whole family(even kids) enjoyed this. I did add about a tablespoon of cumin, 2 T worstershire, 2 t of garlic powder and it came out not at all dry or tasteless. My husband is from MI and he loved it. Make sure to chill the shortening prior as well and the pastry will be so flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I'm also from the UP and have made a similiar recipe to this one for almost 30 years now. I use cut up round steak and they are never dry because I always make a mushroom sauce to pour over the pasties. I agree with using less potatoes and more rutabagas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was really tasty! I made mine smaller and used leftover roast beef. I brushed them with milk and didn't have any problems with them drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I am not from MI; however, my husband is and he loves pasties so I thought it would be nice to have and old favorite. We both agreed that these where really good. I did make a few changes to include omitting the MSG and adding 1 tbsp of worcestershire instead. I also used 1 lb of beef (97% lean) and 1.25 lb. of pork. I didn't have the beef bouillon so I substituted with 1/4 cup of chicken broth and used 3 cups of potatoes and 3 cups of turnips diced (only because I didn't have rutabaga). The last change was putting only 1 cup of filling in each pastie. I ended up with 12 pasties half of which I froze. They were great not to dry and not greasy. Oh and for a golden color I coated the top of each pastie with egg white wash. Next time I will devide the dough into 12 equal portions, form balls, and roll out until about 1/4 in thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsamm7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
These were awesome! They had a wonderful flavor and I did not find mine dry;however, I used 85/15 ground chuck and no pork. I also used white pepper instead of black and threw in the worsterchire sauce as someone else advised.The only thing I would recommend is to double the amount of dough for the crust. I ran short for the amount of filling I had. Otherwise I am very happy with how they turned out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States