Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Guess it depends upon where you are from, but if you are from Butte, Montana these pasties are simply not up to par...sliced potatoes? pork? MSG? beef bouillon? rutabaga?..ugh...might as well make a stew....No one in Butte would consider these "cornish" pasties...sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I just made these and served them with brown gravy! They are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
We added chopped basil and would suggest a medium-flavored sausage to add a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Good recipe minus the MSG. come on cook with real food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Takes me back to the U.P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My dad's from the U.P. and made these for me when I was a kid. These tasted exactly like I remember them. The only thing I omitted was the MSG and this recipe made 12 good sized pasties. I'll making a larger batch next time to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My whole family loved these! My husband and I are from Michigan, so these were a treat! I ate it with gravy and my husband had his with ketchup. My kids just ate them up! We followed the recipe exactly, minus the msg. I ended up with 7 large pasties and 1 small one. We couldn't fit 1 1/2 cups of filling in each (more like 1/2 a cup), so we had quite a bit of leftovers that we just fried it up and ate. Next time I will add a bit of butter to my dough, or butter flavored Crisco, to give it a bit more flavor, and double it (dough) so we have leftovers and enough dough to use all the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I almost hate to do this, but I did change this recipe quite a bit, but I used this one as a base recipe. Here's what I did to simplify it and make my kids happy: used store-bought crust; omitted rutabaga, pork (didn't have any) and MSG. I was wary of cooking the meat raw in the dough, but I had nothing to worry about. They turned out great. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I use whatever I have on hand for the filling, saving leftover meat and veggies in separate ziploc until I have enough. Hubby loves them with venison filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Great recipe! I am now pestered on a regular basis to make pasties! I use beef suet from my butcher for the crust because that's the way I was taught by my husband's Cornish grandmother. Otherwise, I follow this exactly. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryEliz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States