Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've used this recipe 5 or 6 times and have to say they're a success in my house. I use premade pie crusts, which are unauthentic as heck but convenient. I also changed the ratio of ground beef and pork to 1 pound each. I think it makes for a moister pastie. I omit the MSG and also add about a tablespoon of A-1 sauce. Admittedly, they're not as good as those made by the fine ladies at the Gwinn VFW, but they're pretty darned close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Every bit as good as the ones we bought in the UP. And the crust was better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
These tasted just like the pasties up from northern Michigan. I really appreciate you putting this recipe online, we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kgibson
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I modified this recipe a tad to what I grew up on in MN. The dough makes about 5 pasties and I had extra veggies. I made another batch of dough. I mixed in the meat with the veggies so it is more blended. I also added extra pepper, salt, splash of soy sauce, 2 cloves pressed garlic, and a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce to the veggie/meat mixture. Baked on 375 for 1 hour and 20 minutes with 5 minutes to cool down. It must be eaten with ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kgibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I omitted the MSG and I don't care for rutabagas so I used carrots and just ground beef. I put some pats of butter inside for extra flavor and moisture. For just the two of us, I used 1 lb ground beef, 1/2 onion, 1 or 2 carrots sliced, and 2 good sized potatoes sliced or diced small salt and pepper and place in a pie pan put several dots of butter on top and cover with a store bought pie crust. Baked at 375 for 45 minutes and served with extra butter and catsup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I ended up making 1 1/2 recipes of the pastry to match the amout of filling. All in total it equalled 18 pastries. We all found it a bit dry so next time we are adding 1/3 cup of A1 Steak Spice and a smooth beef gravy to go over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made these for a Finnish friend from Hurley, WI and they were deemed "just like home."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made recipe as is besides the addition of more rutabaga. They turned out perfect! I put an egg white wash and sprinkled some coarse salt on before baking, crust came out beautifully golden. My husband loves pasties and said these are the best he's had! I served with brown gravy and sour cream, perfect! Neighbor already asked for the recipe too!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A lived in the UP when kid loved Pasties ,still do great recipe, Finlander in Wyo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Really good. Sadly I could not find the rutabaga so I had to leave it out. I also left out the MSG and added worcestershire sauce instead. I couldnt find ground pork either so I substitued it with a little bit of pork sausage. The spices in the sausage actually made it better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States