Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
The crust is the thing. My father, gone 25 years, found from living in the UP that real home made pasties were often leftovers from supper the night before put into a shell and baked in the morning for a relatively hot meal of whatever was on hand. Hence, recipe???? what recipe??? I find the variations to be great and use the wonderful shell to fill with all kinds of things, like leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. I use a little gravy inside to keep them nice and moist. My grandkids will eat vegetables if inside a pasty so in they go. I also sometimes use Jeruselum Artichokes for a bit of smokey taste in place of part of the potatoes. We have vegetarian friends who add cream cheese to a veggie mix and serve with sour cream and others who claim it is not the same without gravy covering the whole thing. Me, I say whatever you want inside is fine, just DON'T MESS WITH THE CRUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe. Our version does not call for carrots or MSG (We use salt). My grandmother made these and told me to put a little baking powder in the dough to make it "soft". She never measured it so I just added what I thought was right and they were perfect. I cheated and used southern style frozen hash browns and they turned out just as well as if I peeled a bag of potatoes...only without all of the hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My MI husband was so impressed by these authentic pasties. He said they were exactly like the ones he used to get on his paper route. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very good. I left out the msg for obvious reasons. The recipe made way more filling than I could use with the dough recipe. I ended up buying store bought pie crust and it worked great. I also put some filling in ramikens and topped with crust to make pot pies. They were a HUGE hit. I added a little worcestershire to the second batch of dough and preferred the flavor to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I am an original Yooper from the Western UP, living in Wisconsin now. This recipe is as close to a traditional Finnish pasty that I have seen with the exception of beef bouillon and MSG. Yukon gold are the best potatoes for this and I would suggest some minced garlic for added flavor. For those that struggle with the crust, try the ready to bake Pillsbury 9" pie crusts... just unroll, fill it up and bake. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bergland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Fantastic flavor better than any I have had in the "upper." Born and raised in Michigan this recipe is best by far!! I failed on the crust however not sure what my mistake was ended up runny added flour to fix but the dough came out tough..... I guess I screwed up somewhere???Will try to make another dough recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I learned to make this from my Mom and generations before her. I dont usually use pork, but I like to use cube of beef and not ground beef, I like skirt or flank steak. One time I did not have enough potatoes and tried using some yams (which I healthier for you anyway) and it was really great. I used some white potatoes and added yams. I also dont use MGG but if you can get some montrial steak seasoning it really picks up the flavors. I also find a brush of water or spray of a vegtable oil spray on the crust makes it really nice and brown for the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Fist let me say that though I live in Michigan I have never had a true pasty from the UP, only the ones in southeastern Michigan. To me, these are AWESOME! I only changed a few things, but I am positive they would be perfect if you followed the directions to a tee. I made the dough exactly as it is except added the salt as another review suggested. I used diced potatoes and carrots, had no rutebaga or msg on hand, I added a can of sweet peas, cooked the meat slightly to drain excess fat and added pepper, basil and parsley for flavor. Sauteed the onions with a couple gloves of garlic and the seasonings to soften. Also used a egg white wash for top. Came out perfect after 50 mins at 425 f.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaH1120

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I was born and raised in Michigan and live in Texas. I was really wanting a pastie and found this recipe. It was AWESOME! Everyone loved it and even went back for seconds. Some people said they were dry, I like beef gravy over the top of mine and others used ketchup. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Very authentic on the crust, but I never heard of the MSG or beef bouillion/broth, but I think I might try it with the broth some time, and maybe even a little worcestershire sauce as some have mentioned. Another good tip (if you are saving some in the freezer for another time) is to half-bake them, then cool and wrap to freeze. They come better this way. Thaw and bake, or just bake them from the frozen state(takes awhile). Thanks for posting your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States