Cornflake Waffles with Honey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
So good! I didn't get the little crunch or any texture at all that some of the other people got from the cornflakes but regardless I have a big box that needs to be used up so this helped! I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter as well. That honey sauce is FaNtAsTiC!! We gobbled these down (breakfast for dinner) and can't wait to have the leftovers in the morning! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I found this recipe in a magazine years ago, and subsequently lost it. I was so happy to discover it here again, because we enjoyed it so much. The cornflakes add some texture and crunch to the waffle, and the honey sauce had just the right amount of sweetness. I prefer butter on my waffles along with the syrup, so having it right in the sauce was a plus. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
These were okay, very mild in flavor even with the addition of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I wanted to try these because the addition of cornflakes intrigued me. I used frosted flakes which I crushed in a ziploc bag and a glass measuring cup. You need to crush enough to make 3/4 cup of crushed flakes. I also used vanilla soy milk and an egg alternative because of allergies. These came out fluffy and big. They formed really well. The syrup tasted good, but my complaint was that it was really runny, while my husband thought it was a bit oily. The addition of fresh strawberries made this a nice breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
These were not good. They deflated really quickly once they were off the grill which made them not so attractive and I found the cornflakes to be chewy. Chewy is not what I want in a waffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good waffles. Added vanilla, sour cream and more milk as I found the batter quite thick. The sauce was a tad sweet for me but was great to put this warm sauce and whipped cream on these wonderful waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made the batter for these and than my waffle Iron decided to quit on me so I cooked them like a pancake as I didn't want to lose my batter.. They turned out wonderfull. Both my son (3) and daughter (1) loved them. I will make these again for sure and hopefully I will have a new wafflemaker by that point. I didn't make the sauce as I didn't have all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
These were great. What a difference the corn flakes make. I crushed mine into a powder. The only issue I had was that the waffles stuck to the waffle iron...not sure why (never happened before). Even my husband, who is not fond of breakfast foods, loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
very good. I didn't do the sauce this time because I was in a hurry (starving). I'll try it next time though. I was surprised at how fluffy these are. I did add a little vanilla extract (because I put vanilla in everything) but that's the only change I made. You have to finely crush the flakes, though. I put mine in the food processor. I think it would be funny to have larger chunks of corn flakes in them if you didn't crush them very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These waffles are yummy! The waffles are nice and crispy, with a sweet and nutty flavor. I didn't have any cornflakes so I used Multi-Grain Cheerios and Total and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by White Wave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States