Cornflake Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Good - a little dry, but reminded me a bit of a tiny scone. A good cookie to go with tea or coffee. I recommend making them very small. They weren't sweet at all, so while they were cooling I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top which helped. I will make them again. Thanks for the recipe! Update: I used the base cookie recipe but instead of raisins, added dried pineapples, and then instead of cornflakes, I rolled them in shredded coconut. Delicious. Also tried rolling them in walnut pieces and added extra raisins to the batter. Also very delicious. So thanks for the base cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Here's what I did-I made 1 and 1/2 times the recipe, put in 2 eggs (1 and !/2 would have been difficult!), doubled the raisins (soak in hot water for 10 mns beforehand), and substituted baking soda for baking powder. I flattened the teaspoonfuls of dough with a fork dipped in sugar and followed the cooking time. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elainey
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was a really easy to follow and accurate recipe. My tips to add: I used self raising flour and I did not crush the flakes which makes the cookie taste more crunchy and you can actually see the flakes. I followed your method and it turned out just great. Thank you so much for this! Unlike the other reviews, it did not turn out hard at all. The tips say that the cookies dont expand which is quite true so just press them down lightly if you want a bigger cookie. I also added 1 tspn of vanilla essence - a very good idea. Also baking time should be 15 minutes exactly at 175 deg celcius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elainey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Have made these several times we all love them - failproof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I baked these cookies for 15 minutes and added about 1 tsp. of vanilla extract for flavour. I also substituted trail mix for the raisins. My boyfriend seemed to like them, but he'll eat anything. Overall they seemed to lack a little umph!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
The cookies were good, but they were really, really hard. I think the cornflakes may have sucked up all the moisture. Also, make sure to press the dough down, because they won't spread because of the baking powder. Also, I needed to cook them for about 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
I made these cookies because I had lots of leftover cornflake cereal. I am sorry to say that these did not come out well at all for me. They were on the dry side, somewhat hard and everyone complained they were too salty and did not have enough sugar. I even tried a peanut butter version and replaced the raisins with choclate chips. However, they were a very easy cookies to make and did not take too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This is really good. I did however cut down the sugar to 3 oz. I would suggest making smaller cookies so that you get more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
It really is delicious! I've been looking for a cornflake cookie recipe, and I had no idea it was so easy to make! I like my cookies small and crisp, so I left out the nuts and raisins, and added a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
This recipe was great!! I was a little nervous about trying cookies that used Cornflakes, but I'm glad I did! My whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States