Cornell Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was offered at the NYS fair in Syracuse when I lived in NY...delicious! I have used this recipe like three times a month, even in the winter. I usually grill it on a gas grill, but I think charcoal makes it even better. I remember the make-shift grills at the fair...cinder blocks built up with grills on top, done with charcoal, and the marinade swabbed on with a mop...best memories ever! The Doctor, in the urban-legends I have heard, was "tasked" with the challenge of creating a marinade that would "bind" on the chicken, thus the egg. The amount in this recipe is enough to grill three different batches of 6-8 chicken thighs, IMO. I use VERY little for marinating in the plastic bag, just enough to coat, and then use a more liberal amount for "swabbing" while on the grill. The marinade to flame/heat ratio (coat, then turn) will make this best on a gas grill... And the rest will keep in the fridge...that much vinegar, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
All I tasted was vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Cut the recipe for just two of us, but followed all the directions and it was juicy and delicious! My husband is still learning how to grill chicken and this is an easy intro to grilled chicken! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Good, different, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a very good grilled chicken, not the best I've ever had but decidedly good. I only marinated for a day (not overnight as I normally would) due to reviews of this technically being a basting sauce not a marinade. I think it could have marinated longer and been fine. I was cooking for kids so I did 1 1/2 cups cider vinegar and 1/2 cup apple juice. I indirectly grilled then put them over the flames to crisp them up at the end. I also used immersion basting several times (after I heated/thickened the marinade in a saucepan on the stove) which worked nicely, and kept the grill from getting too messy! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
1. I don't use a blender. Just mix in a gallon zip top bag. 2. I prefer white pepper to black pepper. 3. Ideally I'd marinate this for much longer (at least overnight), but I never remember ahead of time to put them in so it's good that it turns out so well with just a few hours. 4. Use whatever bone-in chicken pieces you have on hand. I prefer drumsticks. Even if you don't eat the skin I recommend keeping it on for grilling to help keep the chicken moist. So. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The chicken was very moist. It just didn't have enough "punch" for me. I really wanted to like this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Wow- this was fantastic!! Made for fourth of July and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
this was the BEST. just like the chicken we get here at our fire dpt. chicken BBQ. amazing didn't change any thing. thanks dr. Baker and Cornell Uniersity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I substituted the vegetable oil with olive oil. And added quality apple cider vinegar, needless to say this recipe is AWESOME!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States