Cornell Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I agree with Bob D it is not a marinade. The best way to have this is on chicken halves. For the best flavorcook yourcchicken over charcoal and use this sauce as a mop sauce. Sauce the chicken a minute or two before you flip it each time. Reserve some of your sauce to pour over the chicken when it's done, the best way to cook chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
made this weekend trying to replicate the local Lions Club Chicken BBQ, and guess what? This was it! Now I have the secret recipie...so funny this simple concoction is the secret behind all the chicken sold at these charity BBQ's across the country. I followed recipie as written except I cut back the salt by 1/2, and it was perfect - I marinated in a zip lock bag overnight - close to 24 hours. then grilled with fresh batch of marinade to baste with frequently. Results were great - family loved it. Leftovers were great cold for lunch! Will for sure make again, but may follow suggestion of another review and add some lemon juice and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcb62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My mom worked as a secretary in Cornell's Ag School at the time this recipe was developed. We've been eating it for family gatherings and summer church socials for going on 60 years. It's thee bees knees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The midwest version of this sauce is called 4-H bar-b-que sauce and I have been using that version since the early 70's. The only addition that 4-H has is 1/4 cup lemon juice & 1/4 cup Frank's hot sauce. I make a gallon at a time about 3 x's a year. Thats how much we love this marinade and basting sauce. It will flare up on the grill so cook your chicken parts indirect charcaol with the lid on and the vents wide open for about 55 min, basting every 10 min. The skin will crisp up just like it is fried chicken. The longest we have marinated this chicken is 7-8 hrs. I don't know for sure but 24 hrs might make it to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Tastes exactly like the chicken my parents would get from the firemen...one change however... use white pepper! This is a winner, made it and my other half inhaled his quarter before I was done savoring my first bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My aunt worked for Cornell's home ec department in the 50's till she retired in the early 80's. We got a copy of this recipe, all the way in Minnesota, from her, and it was the only barbecue chicken we had, after that! I'd lost my copy, and wanted to make it for Labor Day dinner today. THANK YOU for posting this delicious barbecue recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
i can't help but to agree with most posts. Growing up "up there" it was a staple of summer. It bought fire trucks, sent children to college and helped with medical bills and a variety of other worthy causes. I too have tweaked it slightly. Having been on the crew who set it all up i know this about it: it is for the half chicken, 2 1/2 - 3 lb size, our orders for that were specific. Having cooked it with no less than 5 crews not a one marinaded it. We used the 20" from the fire as original and "mopped" the sauce every time it flipped using what i can only describe as a car washing mitt dipped in the sauce. Having my sauce memorized, i too have taken it with me everywhere. No one has ever said they didn't like it. not even TX or NC. I served it once at a soup kitchen and we served 120 lbs of quarters to 110 people. We were aiming to have some seconds but people just exchanged clothes to get another plate, and another. Try it using quarters, you'll be hooked too. Works on gas, charcoal and in the oven. Even tastes great on squirrel and rabbit. If you are of a mind to try it "wild" or other use the indirect heat method to mimic the distance in the original. I will post mine later; no salt, just good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My mom used to make this chicken for us all the time while I was growing up! LOVED it then, LOVE it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I'm always a little shy with salt, so I use 2/3 or 1/2 of what the recipe calls for, but the simplicity and great flavor of this marinade make it a perfect recipe, in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUCHUNK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
another Upstate NY fan here. 1 teaspoon salt is the right amount, if even that. The other amounts are perfect! My father made this every summer while I was growing up and wouldn't tell me what he put in it because he knew I hated the smell of vinegar. I never knew until after he passed away that this was the recipe he used and, well, vinegar smell be da**ed, this is the absolute BEST chicken BBQ recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States