Cornell Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I'm from Upstate NY and this is not really a marinade as much as it is a basting sauce. If you "marinade" don't do it for that long (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I've used a variation of this recipe for a long time, however, I tried it as written. Without changes, I give it 4 stars, but only because it is too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I grew up in Towanda and this is my favorite grilled chicken recipe ever. The wonderful aroma of those Fireman's BBQ's drifting through town on a hot summer's day is something that never leaves you. Aaaaahhhh. I'm gonna start marinating right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Y'all are using this wrong. It is not a marinade, it is a basting sauce. Look up the original recipe on Cornell's website. You do not expose the chicken to the sauce until you start cooking it; then you baste the chicken with the sauce repeatedly while you grill it. I grew up in Upstate New York, and this was frequently made at summer church socials and fire department picnics. For a large crowd you make large charcoal pits out of cement blocks and lay out split broilers on large wire grills; you make an extra grill to lay over the top of the chickens and two people can flip over maybe a dozen chickens at a time. The sauce is mixed up in pails and applied with big paint brushes. Again, you don't marinate the chicken, that would make it too salty, and it would be impractical to do so when serving hundreds of people, which was how the recipe was originally written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I grew up in NNY in a small town called Gouverneur. I love Cornell chicken. The fire departments, masonic lodges all used this recipe for their summer BBQ fundraisers. This recipe can be salty as reviewers have mentioned. I use kosher salt instead of typical table salt and have never found it to be to salty. I only marinate mine for 2-3 hours before cooking. I only marinate it because i do not take the time to cook it as the recipes inventor Robert C Baker intended it to be. The original recipe does not call for the chicken to be marinated. Instead it calls for the chicken to be turned every five to ten minutes during cooking and basted with each turn. Lite basting in the early cooking stages and heavier in the later cooking stage. I do baste the chicken but not as often as the original calls for. There is a lot of oil is this recipe and using a gas grill will cause flare ups. I cook this chicken on my charcoal grill and do not get flare ups. I give this a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justinrhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gouverneur, New York, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
It's hard to know how to review this one, I changed it up some before I made it after reading so many reviews about it being too vinegary. Off the bat, I cut the vinegar in half, COMPLETELY cut out the salt, and I only marinated the chicken breasts for three hours. I didn't change the proportions of any other ingredients. They grilled up nicely and I basted with some reserved sauce and added a sprinkle of salt at the end of cooking. I thought they were ok, my husband said they were pretty good. I'll probably try them again sometime, but I think there are other marinades out there that give chicken a greater kick. so I'm giving it four stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
WAY too vinegary for my taste buds. It wasn't horrible, but all I could taste was the vinegar. Not my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I didn't intend to marinate it for 3 days...just got busy with other things. I think this contributed to it being very salty. Next time I'd cut back by half. I also only made 2 split breasts. This think this also affected the saltiness. Overall very good. Served with rice and green beans. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Didnt have much of a taste in my opinion. I let it maridade for 10 hours. Tasted good, but kind of plain. Very easy though. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
When I asked Mr. LTH how his chicken was, he responded, "vinegary"...I thought he was just being a big baby cause he'd smelled the vinegar in the marinade while grilling the chicken. I was wrong. I took a bite and realized that's overpowering predominant flavor: vinegar. I like vinegar and it was still a bit much for me. I was hoping this would taste like *chicken BBQ* chicken, but not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States