Cornell Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
this is the BEST chicken marinade/BBQ baste you will ever find. I grew up in the Finger Lakes area and this aroma is something to look forward to! Don't bother trying to make this into a red type sauce, you'll ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I followed this recipe EXACTLY and it made the best grilled chicken my family has ever had. I used split chicken breasts with bone in and skin on, my family picked it clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Excellent!! Mouthwatering chicken like the best you've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I am really not sure about this chicken. I want to like it but the flavor is so strong it was hard to eat a whole piece. I used boneless skinless breasts so maybe that was my problem. I did baste instead of marinating so it wasn't salty (althought I did reduce the salt) but the overall flavor was a bit overwhelming. I will try it again with leg quarters or bone in breasts. It smelled amazing while it was cooking on the grill. I really want to like it. As a baste, it was quick to throw together. I grilled it on low until it was 160 degrees and then kept warm on the upper rack in the closed grill with the heat turned off. It did make perfectly moist chicken breasts. I can't even imagine how strong the flavor would be if the chicken marinated for 24 hours. Update - I tried again and I tried to like it but I just don't. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Thanks for all the reviews...now I know what to do and not what to do..(salt)...let the Marinade begin. Let you know tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Coming from upstate New York, there are many establishments (Brook's House of Barbecue for example) which have perfected the use of this marinade. I personally, marinade for as long as possible, then rub the chicken with a chicken rub, sear the chicken well over direct high heat on all sides, then slow and low over indirect low heat for an hour and a half. You really want to slow-cook this, and use direct heat only during the sear phase to avoid flare-ups. I will also mention, you can, really you can, use less salt than is recommended. 1.5-2 tablespoons is sufficient. Further, this recipe is really meant for quarter or half-chickens with skin-on. You will be very disappointed if you use boneless, skinless breasts for example. This recipe, because of the acid-content, likes chicken that has fatty skin attached to it. I recommend immersion-basting as well (periodically submerging the cooking chicken into a vat of the marinade it sat in for hours while it cooks). If using immersion basting, use fresh-basting sauce during the last 15 minutes of cooking to avoid cross-contamination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Good marinade! I reduced it to 4 servings with the recipe calculator and added the 1-1/2 tsp salt which the amended recipe called for. Too salty for the family, but that was the only thing I will change next time: 1/2 tsp of salt is what I will use. Pan fried 4 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, deglazed the pan with 1 cup water, added a little flour to thicken and it made a great sauce. So, for me, the marinade did double duty. It flavored the chicken before cooking, and then made a nice sauce to boot!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Growing up in western NY, this recipe was synomymous with fireman fund raiser barbeques. It is truly a special recipe to me now that I live in southern California. My absolute favorite cold bbq chicken leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Grew up with this and I have used it for my entire adult life...but I didn't know about the marinade process...have always used as just a basting sauce... but maybe I will try the marinade... next time! I always wondered where this originated from...there is a restaurant in Oneonta that makes yummy chicken...I think this must be the sauce that they use...since it is so similar to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
A couple of corrections. This is actually a BBQ sauce, not a marinade. It was never intended to marinate the chicken for 24 hrs. As an alternative, you can marinate the chicken in a cider vinegar based brine for an hour or 2 if you like. But the chicken should be grilled over a slow to moderate charcoal or wood fire and basted frequently with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States