Cornell Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carm
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I discovered this recipe when I came to Upstate NY for college in 1963 and went to a local firemen's carnival. I still live in the area, and we've used it ever since - it's the only way to bbq chicken! I don't recommend marinating it longer than 8 hours as the vinegar may tenderize the chicken too much and cause a loss of the chicken flavor. We usually make it in the morning and let it soak in the fridge until dinnertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
from Ithaca NY and would never have any other sauce on my chicken but this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I whisk the poultry seasoning, S&P into the egg before adding oil. If you do it right, the egg will emulsify the oil and you won't get the oil/vinegar separation. I gently boil the leftover marinade to kill pathogens and pour it over plain rice. If you are a vinegar lover, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Maine, USA
Living In: Penn Yan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
As a native Midwesterner, BBQ chicken involves slathering sweet sticky sauce on chicken. Having lived in Upstate NY for 10 years now, this is the ONLY BBQ chicken I make. If I use bone-in chicken I will marinate it for 4-5 days. If I use boneless skinless chicken I find I only need to marinate it for 1 day and I reduce the salt to 1 tsp if I make the whole recipe. Can't live without Cornell BBQ chicken!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Du Sac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Genoa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I agree with Bob D it is not a marinade. The best way to have this is on chicken halves. For the best flavorcook yourcchicken over charcoal and use this sauce as a mop sauce. Sauce the chicken a minute or two before you flip it each time. Reserve some of your sauce to pour over the chicken when it's done, the best way to cook chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
made this weekend trying to replicate the local Lions Club Chicken BBQ, and guess what? This was it! Now I have the secret recipie...so funny this simple concoction is the secret behind all the chicken sold at these charity BBQ's across the country. I followed recipie as written except I cut back the salt by 1/2, and it was perfect - I marinated in a zip lock bag overnight - close to 24 hours. then grilled with fresh batch of marinade to baste with frequently. Results were great - family loved it. Leftovers were great cold for lunch! Will for sure make again, but may follow suggestion of another review and add some lemon juice and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcb62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My mom worked as a secretary in Cornell's Ag School at the time this recipe was developed. We've been eating it for family gatherings and summer church socials for going on 60 years. It's thee bees knees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
The midwest version of this sauce is called 4-H bar-b-que sauce and I have been using that version since the early 70's. The only addition that 4-H has is 1/4 cup lemon juice & 1/4 cup Frank's hot sauce. I make a gallon at a time about 3 x's a year. Thats how much we love this marinade and basting sauce. It will flare up on the grill so cook your chicken parts indirect charcaol with the lid on and the vents wide open for about 55 min, basting every 10 min. The skin will crisp up just like it is fried chicken. The longest we have marinated this chicken is 7-8 hrs. I don't know for sure but 24 hrs might make it to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Tastes exactly like the chicken my parents would get from the firemen...one change however... use white pepper! This is a winner, made it and my other half inhaled his quarter before I was done savoring my first bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States