Corned Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I had to special order the Tender Quick, never heard of it. This was well worth it and a GREAT way to use those shoulder roasts. I will forever more use this recipe for that. Makes great hash in the morning also. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shapleigh, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Oh my gosh you would swear this was genuine corned beef!!!! Looked, tasted and even cut like corned beef does. Thank you for another recipe I can use with venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Wow! First time making this recipe. It was incredibly simple and easy to make. I was looking new ways to get my wife to enjoy venison and since we love Rueben sandwiches I thought I would give it a try. I encourage you to give it a try. I used the hams and left it for 7 days. For bigger meats keep in longer or pink desired color wont penetrate center of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RD Dominguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Excellent!!! I can't wait to make this recipe again. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T up to the cooking method. I chose to cook mine in a slow cooker instead of the boiling method but only to play it safe. I have never boiled corned beef and didn't want to risk not liking it that way after I had spent 5 days "babysitting" it. This is an excellent way to use up venison that is taking space in the freezer. I still prefer beef over venison but that goes for all recipes and not just this one. If you are a hunter and you like corned beef, give this one a try. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This tastes just like corned beef. I made ruebens sandwiches for the family and they thought it was corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Hert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I use the brine recipe and then make venison pastrami. After the 5 days, rinse the meat under cold water, pat dry. Use your hands to smear the roast with whole grain mustard. Shake on an even coating of ground black pepper and then a little granulated onion. Place the roast in a pan and then in a smoker at 275 degrees. I use hickory wood to smoke mine. The juices that gather in the pan will help keep it moist, add a little water if it starts to dry out in the pan while smoking. 4 to 5 hours until the internal temp is 165 degrees pull it out and let it rest 20 minutes. Thinly slice and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedi_Jerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is the best venison recipe that I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Tried this last week...tastes just like corned beef!! I did the refrigeration out in the garage and with freezing temps, the center of the roast froze and didn't turn the red color. I'll be doing this again soon until I run out of venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this 3 times. It is a great way to use venison roast. We make Reuben sandwiches with it. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States