Corned Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T up to the cooking method. I chose to cook mine in a slow cooker instead of the boiling method but only to play it safe. I have never boiled corned beef and didn't want to risk not liking it that way after I had spent 5 days "babysitting" it. This is an excellent way to use up venison that is taking space in the freezer. I still prefer beef over venison but that goes for all recipes and not just this one. If you are a hunter and you like corned beef, give this one a try. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This tastes just like corned beef. I made ruebens sandwiches for the family and they thought it was corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Hert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I use the brine recipe and then make venison pastrami. After the 5 days, rinse the meat under cold water, pat dry. Use your hands to smear the roast with whole grain mustard. Shake on an even coating of ground black pepper and then a little granulated onion. Place the roast in a pan and then in a smoker at 275 degrees. I use hickory wood to smoke mine. The juices that gather in the pan will help keep it moist, add a little water if it starts to dry out in the pan while smoking. 4 to 5 hours until the internal temp is 165 degrees pull it out and let it rest 20 minutes. Thinly slice and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedi_Jerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is the best venison recipe that I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Tried this last week...tastes just like corned beef!! I did the refrigeration out in the garage and with freezing temps, the center of the roast froze and didn't turn the red color. I'll be doing this again soon until I run out of venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this 3 times. It is a great way to use venison roast. We make Reuben sandwiches with it. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
A friend does this to the rump every year, and I just tried some. DELICIOUS! Like corned beef, but with no slimy gelatin. If we get a second deer this season, I will definitely do this! Saltpeter (a nitrate) will keep it pink, like store-bought corned beef, but it's not really good for you. I won't use it, the pink color is not important to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My husband's a hunter. It's hard for me to find recipes to use with what he brings home. I'm not crazy about game. I always keep the recipes that "fool" me into forgetting that I'm eating: deer, fish, bear, elk, etc. This recipe is awesome! I was skeptical about what this brine would really do. TRY IT! So tender and yummy! We put it on sandwiches w/swiss or provolone cheese and then grill the bread. Sooooo yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was outstanding ,lean corned venison, very tasty and didn't last long.... New favorite to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I had no idea a venison roast would take to being corned so well. WOW!! Another great way to enjoy natures bounty. Our little blacktail don't have very big shoulder roasts so I did a rump roast and it came out great. Gave corned venison for X-mas presents last year and will be doing the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States