Corned Beef on Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is so easy and tasty for someone who had corned beef but didn't have a clue what to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Great recipe.. I tweeked it a little... I fried thinley sliced potato's (about 2 cups), drained then added the rue and chipped beef at the very end added some sliced hardboiled egg. I agree with others here limit the use of salt the beef is salty enould did use pepper... Great for crowds/brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
My mom always made this version of "SOS" with dried beef on open faced toast. I find it much better with the corned beef. I added a little pepper and served open faced. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
this is always a great comfort meal, from breakfast to dinner! the only thing I do different is to lightly brown the corned beef in a little oil, then remove it from the skillet and then follow the the recipe, browning the beef brings the flavor out a little better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ & Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
My Mom made this a lot growing up, but we added pepper and ate it on open faced toast. She called it Chipped Beef on Toast, Dad said in the military it's called "SOS" for Sh** On a Shingle.... Whatever it's called, it's good! I like to also use a package of ham lunch meat instead of the corned beef. It's great for brunch or breakfast too! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Amazing! I used left over corned beef that we had in the crock pot the day before and just chopped it up. I really cduldn't believe how good this was, and I am a very picky/particular cook. More flavor than expected and no modifications needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I have to say I was VERY surprised at how tasty this turned out! I served them on open faced toast. The kids gobbled it down much faster then the roast it was leftover from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
simple and good meal for the those times when you can't think of any else to eat and you want to eat now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Staskivige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
super easy and tasted great. Great way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My mother made this all the time when I was young. I put a small amount of oil in the skillet and crumble up the canned corned beef and chopped onion and let it brown a little then add the flour, cooking it just a bit and then and the milk making a thick gravy that is great over baked potatoes or cooked cabbage. If your family is like mine and don't like the texture of onions cheat by grating the onion or use minced onions in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

RITZ Pastrami and Corned Beef Mini Sandwich

A snack-size version of the famous sandwich created by Carnegie Deli.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States