Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
This is THE BEST. I made it in the crock pot and the corned beef was so tender and everything was so tasty. I won't wait until next St. Patty's Day to make this again. Fantastic!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I made this in the slow cooker and cooked on high for six hours. The meat was so tender you could eat with a fork. I forgot to add the parsley and the butter at the end and it was still perfect. Next time I'll add a little more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
It was soooo beautiful here in Chicago yesterday (I'm wonderin' what happened today) that I started the meat in the crockpot at 11 a.m. went outside & forgot about it until I came in and took a whiff of the awesome aroma that it produced. I used beef broth (low sodium) instead of the water and added the veges & potatoes at about 3p.m. (I served at 6) I used Vienna corned beef because the last time I skimpped, it was very tough, not this time...it was so tender & tasty. Thanks Cindy..Happy St. Patty's Day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I've used this recipe for the last two years and have had excellent results with it both times! FORK TENDER and JUICY!! I did cook mine in a 300 degree oven for about 6 hours while at work. Than put on stove top and added the vegetable to cook. One thing that I do is rinse my corned beef after removing from the package mainly to remove the blood. I use Boyle's Corned Beef. After eating for supper and fixing leftovers for lunches for the next day never have anything left. Everyone has seconds when this is served!! Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I HAVE NEVER MADE A CORN BEEF DINNER IN MY LIFE BEFORE. I DON'T COOK MUCH AT HOME EITHER. BUT MAKING THIS WAS EASY ANDIT CAME OUT GREAT THE FIRST TIME I TRIED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Cindy, this was exactly what I was looking for to celebrate St. Patrick's Day at our house. I had to do in a slow cooker while I was at work, but with a few changes, it still came out very good. I put EVERYTHING your recipe called for (including some red potatoes)in a slow cooker and cooked for about 7 hours on high. The meat was a little tough still so, I boiled on stove (about an hour) with meat and juices only, to finish. Great flavor and the potatoes and carrots (I used baby)were actually perfect (not too overcooked)The cabbage however was overcooked;which was okay because I only added half the called for amount(for the flavor). I added the other half of fresh cabbage to the meat as I boiled the extra hour and it worked out fine. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have never made corned beef and cabbage before but I will have to say that I am hooked. This was great! I cooked mine in the crockpot on low for 8 hours. The beef was tender and the veggies were great! My VERY picky 12 year old even liked it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRESAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I've never made Corned Beef before. I had no problems; it was easy and delicious. I did remove the beef from the pot and placed it in the oven to keep warm while I cooked the vegetables. (I needed room for them.) I cooked carrots and potatoes approximately 15 min., then added cabbage and cooked for about 15 min. more. This was about right, and I added the veggies in amounts to suit me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Very easy to make and it was very delicious. I let it cook on top of my stove and it smelled up the whole neighborhood. Good thing I like cooking and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
Terrific recipe. My husband and 3 yr old daughter loved it! I've only made corned beef once before and it was tough and dry. This was moist and tasty (although I would personally add more peppercorns and garlic next time). Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States