Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I have made this recipe every St. Patrick's day for years, and it is by far my family's favorite. I tried a different recipe last year and was terribly disappointed. I'm back to this one this year because I know it is the best! Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Everyone loved this. I used the spice packet that came with the corned beef, and made it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was my first time making this. My husband is part Irish and he gave it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I love the method but I did make some changes for more flavor. First I used two bottles of beer, a can of Beef Consomme, two cans of water, 6-8 garlic cloves minced, added the seasoning packet, 3 bay leaves, cracked fresh pepper, and fresh thyme. Simmered as stated and at the end took the Corned Beef out and added red potatoes, baby carrots, one sliced onion, cabbage and fresh parsley. Once vegetables were done I sliced the Corned beef and added back in at the end. Added two TBSP butter and served. It was delicious. Oh, and I used premium beer, a Lagunitas IPA and a Deschutes Brewery IPA. And I think the Beef Consomme added a more beefy taste without adding so much sodium that beef broth contains. It was awesome! My best one ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was a pretty quick and simple receipe, though the meat was not as tender as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I have made corn beef and cabbage every St. Patties Day for many years, and this year wanted to try a different recipe. I will never go back to my old one. This was simple, and the taste was amazing. I started it on the stove, and after 3 hours, transferred the meat with just a ladle of juice into a crockpot, then started to boil the carrots in the remainder of the juice for 15 minuted, then added the potatoes, and lastly the cabbage. Then added all to the crockpot, just to keep warm till ready to eat. You gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was very good and exactly as I remembered from when my mom made it. My meat didn't come with a seasoning packet so I was worried, but the meat had plenty of flavor. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a 16.9 oz bottle of beer at the beginning when I added the water, and the meat had wonderful flavor. I didn't even bother with the butter and parsley at the end, and I also just added my chunked veggies to the pot during the last 45 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings On Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is very nice way to cook everything. It makes the meat very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
GREAT recipe. I tripled the peppercorns and also added a bottle of Michelob light when I began the simmer. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! I need to make this more often than just the obligatory St. Patrick's Day feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States