Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
It has now been 7 years of using Cindy's recipe for my Annual St. Patty's Day Dinner for a local Organization. This year I had over 50 attendees. The members look forward to this dinner every year. After reading some of the comments from other reviewers, and how they "modified" the recipe, I decided to let you all know what my secret is; I follow the recipe to the letter. If after scaling the recipe for 509 people, it calls for 32 1/2 peppercorns, I use 32 1/2 peppercorns. I also do not use cheap briskets of corned beef. There is so little fat in the pot that when its time to add the potatoes and carrots, the butter is needed to provide the fat. I do not mess around with Mother Nature, and I don't mess around with Cindy's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe. I had no idea what I was doing and I don't usually care for corned beef. The butter and parsley at the end is a MUST for buttery tasting veggies and fresh color. I only cooked the cabbage for 5 minutes and the veggies for 15 (tender crisp). I substituted Beef Broth for water(recommended by another reader), used coarse sea salt, added 4 whole cloves for a nice added flavor, and red potatoes and baby carrots (on hand). My brisket was almost 6 pounds and this recipe still worked great. I had to take the meat out to cook the veggies, but that was perfect for the 'rest period' for the meat. Also, I had no seasoning packet for the brisket (home raised beef) and it made no difference. It was better without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
tasted great seemed like alot of potatos and cabage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was very good! My husband loved this recipe and it is easy to use the leftover meat for reubens-just make with rye bread and swiss cheese and sauerkraut. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
We loved this. My brisket was only 3 1/2 lbs, so I added a bunch more potatoes (used small white potatoes, halved). The whole family loved it, will make again and often! Our 3 1/2 lb roast comfortably fed 7 adults one 3/4" thick slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Wonderful. my 6 year old HATES cabbage but loved it this way, will make again alot! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beliveau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Fantastic! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILESVT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
So easy and so yummy! Classic New England meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Very good recipe! I made a few minor changes. Instead of the peppercorns I just added the packet of seasonings that came with the brisket (it had peppercorns in it). Thankfully I didn't have to skim the fat off the top because I left it for a few minutes with a lid on the pan and the fat boiled out. :) I wouldn't have skimmed anyway due to the fact I didn't want to take the spices out too (they float). Also, instead of garlic powder I added a whole bunch of minced garlic. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This corned beef was really good. I used the season packet and all the spice suggested in this recipe. The only thing I changed was putting the butter in after I put the veggies in a bowl. I also salted and peppered them at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States