Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
We loved this. My brisket was only 3 1/2 lbs, so I added a bunch more potatoes (used small white potatoes, halved). The whole family loved it, will make again and often! Our 3 1/2 lb roast comfortably fed 7 adults one 3/4" thick slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
Wonderful. my 6 year old HATES cabbage but loved it this way, will make again alot! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mofks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Fantastic! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILESVT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
So easy and so yummy! Classic New England meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Very good recipe! I made a few minor changes. Instead of the peppercorns I just added the packet of seasonings that came with the brisket (it had peppercorns in it). Thankfully I didn't have to skim the fat off the top because I left it for a few minutes with a lid on the pan and the fat boiled out. :) I wouldn't have skimmed anyway due to the fact I didn't want to take the spices out too (they float). Also, instead of garlic powder I added a whole bunch of minced garlic. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This corned beef was really good. I used the season packet and all the spice suggested in this recipe. The only thing I changed was putting the butter in after I put the veggies in a bowl. I also salted and peppered them at that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was great! I've tried many Corned Beef and Cabbage recipes and this by far was the best. My husband and two little kids just loved it!! It made our St. Patty's Day dinner perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I had never made corned beef before and didn't know what to expect. This was sooooo good. I left out the butter and salt and added much more garlic powder. I also put the veggies in with the beef for about 2 1/2 hours and they were great. I also cooked more veggies in the leftover broth because everyone ate the first batch and they were almost as flavorful. I made hash using just the potatoes and beef and it was fabulous! I made this today in the crock pot and it wasn't nearly as good. It was dry and had very little flavor. Stick with the stove top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
We loved this recipe! I changed it a bit, though. I rinsed the brisket & trimmed the fat, which separated it into two pieces. I used all of this recipe's spices, as well as the spice packet that came with the 4 lb. brisket. At the end of cooking the meat (about 2 1/2 hrs.), I added the carrots & red potatoes first, and cabbage after 15 minutes, then simmered til tender. Skipped the butter & parsley, & served with spicy brown mustard & dill rye bread. Perfection! I can't wait to use the leftovers for Reuben sandwiches, Irish Egg Rolls, & CB&C soup. Thanks for the great recipe, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
We had guests over for St. Patricks Day. They all loved it, as did I. I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used the packet of spices that came with the roast instead of the bay leaves. I also did not add the parsley because it seemed like it was just for color, and I did not add the butter as it seemed the that juice was greasy enough. I cooked it in a crock pot for about 8 hours. I pulled out the roast and put it on a pretty dish with the vegetables and put it in the oven on a low temperature. I tried to cook the cabbage in the crockpot, but it took to long and we eventually just dumped it all into a stock pot with more water and let it boil for a few minutes until it was done. It was delicious. Everyone raved and had second. We will do this again next year. We ate it with Irish Soda Bread and limeade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States