Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was really good. Made it for St. Patrick's Day and it was great. Made it exactly as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim~In~Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
We really liked this one. I only changed the seasonings a bit because I was using a brisket that had already been seasoned. Unseasoned briskets are hard to find in our area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Excellent! We've always done our St. Patty's Day regular old corned beef/cabbage/potatoes, and it was always good--but this just about pushed us over the edge. I used one can of beef broth and added some beef bouillon granules to the remaining water. Followed the recipe and also added the spice packet, cooked in a cast iron dutch oven on the stove top. The recipe didn't indicate if it should be covered, but I did throughout most of the simmer time. I saved the cooking liquid because my husband wants a repeat today instead of corned beef sandwiches! Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very good and easy recipe that my kids liked! I've made Corned Beef & Cabbage before but this is, by far, the best way I've had it. The potatoes were yummy and the meat was very tender. It does take a while to cook so next time I would start earlier! I would definitely use this recipe again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
A St. Patrick's Day staple! I used a 1.5lb brisket and still didn't have enough room in the pot for the potatoes (maybe my dutch oven is only 4qt). Just took the meat out at the end and cooked the veggies in the juices. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Yum yum yum. I made this meal as instructed, and although it was time consuming, it was delicious. I echo the suggestion to buy a good piece of meat, though. The extra cost will pay off in tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
It has now been 7 years of using Cindy's recipe for my Annual St. Patty's Day Dinner for a local Organization. This year I had over 50 attendees. The members look forward to this dinner every year. After reading some of the comments from other reviewers, and how they "modified" the recipe, I decided to let you all know what my secret is; I follow the recipe to the letter. If after scaling the recipe for 509 people, it calls for 32 1/2 peppercorns, I use 32 1/2 peppercorns. I also do not use cheap briskets of corned beef. There is so little fat in the pot that when its time to add the potatoes and carrots, the butter is needed to provide the fat. I do not mess around with Mother Nature, and I don't mess around with Cindy's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe. I had no idea what I was doing and I don't usually care for corned beef. The butter and parsley at the end is a MUST for buttery tasting veggies and fresh color. I only cooked the cabbage for 5 minutes and the veggies for 15 (tender crisp). I substituted Beef Broth for water(recommended by another reader), used coarse sea salt, added 4 whole cloves for a nice added flavor, and red potatoes and baby carrots (on hand). My brisket was almost 6 pounds and this recipe still worked great. I had to take the meat out to cook the veggies, but that was perfect for the 'rest period' for the meat. Also, I had no seasoning packet for the brisket (home raised beef) and it made no difference. It was better without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
tasted great seemed like alot of potatos and cabage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was very good! My husband loved this recipe and it is easy to use the leftover meat for reubens-just make with rye bread and swiss cheese and sauerkraut. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States