Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This dish was a big disappointment for us because it just didn't seem to have enough flavor. As other posters suggested, I substituted beer for some of the water but otherwise followed the recipe. The result was disappointingly bland. This is a high-calorie recipe, so perhaps it's just as well that we didn't like it, but I'll be looking for something more flavorful next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Great recipe. I used 2 cans of Swanson vegetable broth in place of same amt. of water. Served it St. Pat's day, 2008 to friends and they loved it. I also put the corned beef in the bottom of the slow-cooker and add veggies the last 2 hrs. I put in the cabbage the last 45 min of cooking and cook a total of 9 hrs. Try serving with horseradish sauce . . . MMMM! nanabest1@comcast.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was fairly good, but the Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches uses lots of peppercorns and lots of real garlic and it is a thousand times tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very good recipe! I used a 3 pound brisket and covered it with water and pickling spices and added one bottle of Sam Adams lager. The meat simmered for 3 hours and 30 mins. and I added the carrots and cabbage during the last 30 mins. I served this corned beef and cabbage with mashed baby red potatoes and the "Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread" from this site. Wow! The meat was juicy and tender and sliced beautifully once it rested for about 10 mins. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was fabulous. I had to hide a plate for a friend who was late for dinner. I cooked mine in stock pot on a rolling boil for 30 minutes and then on lo - med for 3 hrs. I also added extra peppercorns and a table spoon of garlic then added the veggies about 20-30 mins before it was finished depening on how tender you like your veggies. The meat was so tender it fell apart when we were cutting it and soo flavorful. Served with a side of this: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Irish-Soda-Bread-3/Detail.aspx soda bread everyone loved it not a bite left. I also added some caraway to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
What a great recipe! I was doing a million things and forgot to put the butter in and fudged the time. It still came out perfect! My husband said he thought it would be aweful, but it was delicious. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was very good!.. I love corned beef and cabbage! I was looking for a recipe that didn't need a slow cooker... Our only dissapointment was purchasing a inexpensive off brand brisket and it was very fatty! Getting around that, the flavor was very good! I didn't have parsley, so I left it out! I added a can of beer too! We don't have enough left overs to make hash tomorrow! That must say something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was very good! My corned beef came without a seasoning packet, so I was glad to find this recipe! I cooked it in the crockpot most of the day, probably 7-8 hours in all. I did leave out the potatoes, because I made colcannon on the side instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This meal was wonderful. I scaled up the recipe to 10 people. The only changes I made was, used one bottle of beer in the water, the corned beef came with season pkgs used them plus the ones that the recipe call for. Also, since we were having 10 people for dinner I put all of the veggies in seperate pieces of cheese cloth, it worked out great, one cheescloth of potatoes (5 lbs), one of carrots, etc... this made it so easy to serve. All of the food went and everyone raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Tasty and easy. Made this and Reuben Soup for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States