Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Not traditional corned beef and cabbage - I'm over half Irish, so I know the real stuff. It was okay, but I don't reccomend it if you are making a traditional Irish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made corned beef! It was great! My family loved it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sayville, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I've made this at least six times so far and every single time, the dish turns out great! I have a large family & we like seconds, so I double the recipe but that's the only thing I do differently to this recipe. It is already a favorite in our house and I recommend it to anyone else who likes corned beef & cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was good but a little too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This dish was a big disappointment for us because it just didn't seem to have enough flavor. As other posters suggested, I substituted beer for some of the water but otherwise followed the recipe. The result was disappointingly bland. This is a high-calorie recipe, so perhaps it's just as well that we didn't like it, but I'll be looking for something more flavorful next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Great recipe. I used 2 cans of Swanson vegetable broth in place of same amt. of water. Served it St. Pat's day, 2008 to friends and they loved it. I also put the corned beef in the bottom of the slow-cooker and add veggies the last 2 hrs. I put in the cabbage the last 45 min of cooking and cook a total of 9 hrs. Try serving with horseradish sauce . . . MMMM! nanabest1@comcast.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was fairly good, but the Slow Cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches uses lots of peppercorns and lots of real garlic and it is a thousand times tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Very good recipe! I used a 3 pound brisket and covered it with water and pickling spices and added one bottle of Sam Adams lager. The meat simmered for 3 hours and 30 mins. and I added the carrots and cabbage during the last 30 mins. I served this corned beef and cabbage with mashed baby red potatoes and the "Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread" from this site. Wow! The meat was juicy and tender and sliced beautifully once it rested for about 10 mins. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was fabulous. I had to hide a plate for a friend who was late for dinner. I cooked mine in stock pot on a rolling boil for 30 minutes and then on lo - med for 3 hrs. I also added extra peppercorns and a table spoon of garlic then added the veggies about 20-30 mins before it was finished depening on how tender you like your veggies. The meat was so tender it fell apart when we were cutting it and soo flavorful. Served with a side of this: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Irish-Soda-Bread-3/Detail.aspx soda bread everyone loved it not a bite left. I also added some caraway to the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
What a great recipe! I was doing a million things and forgot to put the butter in and fudged the time. It still came out perfect! My husband said he thought it would be aweful, but it was delicious. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States