Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
So simple. Excellent results. Pass this on those friends that are still boiling for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I am eating this corn beef right now. It is delicious! Added a little bit of Guinness to the mix and some carrots. Best cornbeef ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This recipe is a gift to corned beef lovers. First, it solves the mystery of what's in those little spice packets (that mine didn't have included), then it added the perfect complement of oranges, onions and celery steamed in with the spices to create a wonderful, flavorful meal. Thanks to ASTAARA's review, I chose to drop the temp down to 250 degrees as I, too, was using two 2.5 lb. flat-cut briskets. Covered tightly in foil, it cooked for 5 hours. I used my crockpot to boil baby red potatoes, carrots, parnips and boiling onions and added a little of the spices to the water. The cabbage with apples was wonderful too! I don't make this meal often, but today's results have set the standard as high as it gets. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I made this for St. Patricks Day and it was EXCELLENT! It took five hours . My family was worried because I wasn't making it the same usual way (boiling) and they loved it. They only want this recipe used now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Excellent. The only thing I would change is the cooking temperature. I lowered mine to 250 and cooked it about 5 to 6 hours. Also, it was a 3 12 lb brisket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
A great simple recipe for a very tasty Corned Beef and Cabbage. The only thing I did differently was to use a Reynolds Oven bag instead of aluminum foil, and the beef turned out very succulent and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Very Good! I cook and demonstrate for a living, so I am always cooking different things for my two guy roommates, then they tell me what they think. They said this was better than they have ever had, and loved the slight essence of orange that this recipe has. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This recipe is so yummy! Very easy to make. I prepared the dish the night before so that I could come home at lunch to throw it in the oven. The meat was incredibly tender. We had no leftovers! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This was excellent! My 'St. Patrick's Day' guests were IMPRESSED indeed. The meat was tender and flavorful, just PERFECT! I followed the recipe exactly except that I cooked two 2.5-pound briskets in Reynolds Oven bags at 250 degrees for 5 hours. The house smelled heavenly and there was no mess to clean up. I loved the flavor of the cabbage and apples prepared separately (be careful not to overcook them). This was an easy, ELEGANT YET EARTHY dinner that I served with tiny Yukon gold potatoes, Irish soda bread and Ruffino Chianti. We finished up with individual frozen green grasshopper tarts. Thanks 'originalsyn' for this great corned beef recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I made this for my family for St. Patrick's Day and they all loved it! I don't eat any mammal, so I didn't have any, but I have to say that I was tempted to try it. I actually had to make this again a couple of days later since it was all gone and they were clamoring for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States