Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Just for your information, we met a man who was born and raised in Ireland, and he said that he never heard of corned beef and cabbage until he came to the US. Very intersting. This recipe was excellent, very different than how I have ever prepared it in the past. I give it five stars because the flavor was wonderful. The only problem I had, was that my corned beef was considerable smaller than called for in the recipe, so it was just a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe is awesome. The meat was so tender and delicious! The orange gave it a very subtle twist. I put chopped potatoes in the last hour and they were great. The cabbage with the apple was good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I will never boil corned beef again. I made exactly as directed, except for using the roasting bag instead of foil. Cooking the cabbage with apple makes a nice flavor, and it's even better if you put a little juice from the meat on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was delicious. I did my 2 1/2 pound roast in an oven bag for 2 1/2 hours, and used apple juice instead of water and it turned out great. It did have a salty kick to it, but it wasn't over powering. We liked having the sauce from the brisket to serve with the cabbage also. I was worried about running out of water with the cabbage and apple, but didn't need to be, but we weren't huge fans of the mushy apple. I think it toned down the cabbage during cooking but should be left in the pot rather than served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I TOO HAVE been making corned beef the EXACT SAME WAY for years and I can even tell you WHERE the Recipe came from ..."THE BROOKLYN COOKBOOK" by Lynn Stallworth. It is a compilation of Jewish American recipes.. I was looking for a new recipe and saw the pic of the corned beef w/ oranges and just about fell out of my chair.....same layout of meat / vegies...foil and even the same pan!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent, excellent, excellent! I only cooked a 2lb briskett, and 2 hours was perfect. I also used a roasting bag, but I'm sure the foil works well, too. This was very tasty and tender....good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
use everyones advice and used a cooking bag. Great recipe, the oranges gave it a nice flavor. Since cooking it in the oven gives the meat a more salty favor than my health can handle, I will probably try in it a crock pot for a while, then finish in the oven like I used to do. But I will use the oranges in the oven again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I made this last year for our St. Patrick's Day party. I didn't even get to try it because it went so quick, but it got rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I fixed this recipe for a St. Patrick's Day party at my church last year and everyone loved it. The best one I've ever tried. The meat was flavorful and tender and sliced up beautifully. The apple with the cabbage is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Easy tastefull My family loves it and you don't have to wait for St Patrick's dxay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States