Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. This is very good corned beef. Both my wife and also thought the cabbage was good. I don't think it's a 5 star recipe, but certainly a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgmonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Probably the most tender corned beef brisket I've ever had. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Okay, so I didn't follow this recipe exactly but I did use all the ingredients. The end result...THE BEST CORNED BEED AND CABBAGE!!! I actually boiled the beef to stay true to the culture and the "boiled meat" thing. I put enough water in the pot to cover my brisket along with the orange, celery, onion and added carrot for a classic mirepoix. I used the pickling spice packet that came with my 4-pound corned beef and also added an extra tablespoon of pickling spice along with a heavy pinch of salt. I used 2 heads of garlic simply split horizontally into halves and added that as well. Brought to a boil and left to simmer for about 5 hours. Once the corned beef was done I wrapped it in foil to rest, strained the liquid and boiled red potatoes and carrots in the same liquid to infuse all the flavors. I make corned beef all the time but it has never turned out this good. The orange really did something special to this dish. AND THE CABBAGE!!! So simple and soo satisfying. The only thing I changed is I used a braeburn apple and used the stock from boiling the beef and potatoes to cook the cabbage. I usually boiled the cabbage in the liquid in the past but no longer will I do that. I'm gonna go make a killer rueben with my leftovers now. Thanks for the post! I'll try preparing it the way the recipe is written next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I was dismayed to learn the fruit I bought for this recipe was consumed by a household member as a lunch, so had to do without! Even without the citrus, the corned beef was very good. I cut up Yukon Gold potatoes and added them to the bag to roast in the oven and be flavored by the meat. Yum. Instead of using 1/4 c. water to steam the cabbage, I used 1/4 c. vegetable broth to add flavor since I was apple-less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I only made the cabbage part - for the corned beef, I used the "slow cooked corned beef for sandwiches" recipe from this site. I followed another reviewers recommendation and added carmelized onion with the cabbage & apple and cooked it with the braising liquid from the corned beef. I thought the flavor, including the apple, was superb. However, my husband would have reviewed this at only 3 stars since he prefers cabbage to taste like cabbage. His comment was to leave out the apple & onion and not cook it with the broth. So, next St. Patty's day - he'll get plain cabbage. All that said - this is a really tasty cabbage recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Joseph, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Awesome recipe! Had dinner for three couples and they all raved! Only 2 small pieces left from 5 1/2 pounds of corn beef. As others suggested, used an oven cooking bag and carmelized onions with the cabbage. I don't really like cabbage but had seconds of this recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Yum-O, The meat was so tender and we enjoyed the subtle undertone flavor of the oranges. We didn't eat the apples with the cabbage (weird texture) but they gave the cabbage a delicate flavor we enjoyed. The meat was even better the next day. This is my "new" CB recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wow! I agree with everyone else - best tasting, most moist corned beef! I did what HeyChelle suggested and threw it all in the slow cooker since it was too nice outside! Did cabbage & apples on stove top - yum! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRAJAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I L-O-V-E this. I'll never make CB and C any other way. I also use the zest of the orange on top of the CB and veggies before cooking. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
WOW!!! This recipe is sooo good. The only way I will cook corn beef now. This was so moist and full of flavor you couls cut it with a fork. My son said do not cook corn beef boiled anymore, this is the only way he will eat it and he loves the leftovers(if there are any) in sandwiches. The only change I made was the cabbage, did not use the apples, just boiled it and added butter, so good. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States