Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to try corned beef this way. I had three packages, so with one I followed the directions and wrapped it in foil, one I put in a baking bag, and one I boiled in the traditional manner. I was very disappointed with the foil and bag versions....the meat was dry, even though I set the oven at 250, and the citrus left rather an acrid taste to the meat. In the future I will stick to the tried and true boiling method. It surprises me by how many people seem to like this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was an exceptional dish. I took it to a gathering of friends and they all said it was the best corned Beef they had ever had. My husband said that I must make it aggain. Thank you to whoever came up with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was my first attempt at corned beef and I couldn't be more pleased with the results. I don't like to boil meats do when i saw this i had to give it a try. This is the only way i will serve corned beef. The cabbage was great too, the sweet really set off the saltiness of the meat. Served with boiled red potatoes...fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This turned out incredibly well. I substituted margarine with butter, and the cabbage turned out just fine. I probably could have cooked the cabbage a little less than the 30 minutes the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Count_Zero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Something went wrong with this recipe! I used a package of uncured corned beef from Whole Foods which already had the pickling spices included in the package. I followed the directions exactly, omitting pickling spice and the result was SO salty that we couldn't eat it. I would love to know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Best tasting corned beef recipe I've ever made. So easy and yummy - I'll use it every time instead of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My family loves this recipe! it is the best we've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Will never boil again. This was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This seemed a strange recipe but had such good reviews that I decided to chance it. Oh my goodness, it was wonderful! The meat was incredibly tender and flavorful. I added 1 tsp of sugar, 1 Tblsp of cider vinegar and a sprinkle of dill to the cabbage and it was the best I have ever made, in 36 years. I'm doing it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
After reading the review I expected this to be the last Corned Beef and Cabbage recipe to try. I did not think the recipe was that great. I used a roasting bag and the meat was tender. The oranges made the dish bitter. Disappointed with the end result. The cabbage was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States