Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Using several of the suggestions, I went with the oven bag and turned the heat down to 250 degrees. I placed everything in a turkey sized bag in my roaster (with a little extra water and chopped celery), and after 3 hours, I removed the orange slices. I then added the cabbage, apples, margarine, caramelized onions and several cubed potatoes to the pan and cooked for another 3 hours. There was plenty of liquid in the bag, and everything tasted GREAT. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
OG 04/01/06 review: This recipe was really great and easy! When we got up to our new cabin the stove wasn't working correctly so I cut the water down to about 1/4 cup or less, and did it in a crock pot for 8 hours on Low. Turned out magnificently! The orange wasn't discernable as a separate taste really (I'm not in the Fruit and Meat camp normally), but imparted a more complex flavor that is indescribable. I only wish I had tried cooking the cabbage with the apple, but I barely remembered to cook the cabbage, the room smelled so great! I served it with mustard. 2007 addendum: Did this again in 2007, rinsed smaller brisket (3.25 lbs.), used included spice pack plus a little more pickling spice, one orange, one onion, celery salt (just two shakes) and 1/4 cup water in the 4 quart crock pot since it is about the same as cooking in a sealed oven...maybe a little moister so you have to cut the water down due to the practically sealed environment. Again I used about 8 hours as the rule, but took it out in 7. Turned out swell again this year! But I must say, please, please get the more expensive cuts without all of the salt, etc.. Otherwise it tends to run a little salty. This year I added a granny smith to the cabbage. It was heavenly! The prep for this is so simple because there's no dicing, just slice ingredients throw it all in the crockpot (shears minutes off wrapping in foil) and plug it in, but don't forget to turn it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
A great simple recipe for a very tasty Corned Beef and Cabbage. The only thing I did differently was to use a Reynolds Oven bag instead of aluminum foil, and the beef turned out very succulent and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I never would have tryed this recipe if it where not for all the rave reviews. One word...YUMMMMMMM! Very tender,moist and easy. I doubled the liquid and used beef broth rather than water. Didn't have enough pickling spice in the house, so I came up with my own concoction of Mustard Seed,Caraway Seed, Whole Coriander and Allspice Seeds, Hot pepper flakes, tumeric, a crumbled bayleaf and Afew Black Peppercorns. My entire family voted this tops and I will never boil Corned Beef again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This was excellent! My 'St. Patrick's Day' guests were IMPRESSED indeed. The meat was tender and flavorful, just PERFECT! I followed the recipe exactly except that I cooked two 2.5-pound briskets in Reynolds Oven bags at 250 degrees for 5 hours. The house smelled heavenly and there was no mess to clean up. I loved the flavor of the cabbage and apples prepared separately (be careful not to overcook them). This was an easy, ELEGANT YET EARTHY dinner that I served with tiny Yukon gold potatoes, Irish soda bread and Ruffino Chianti. We finished up with individual frozen green grasshopper tarts. Thanks 'originalsyn' for this great corned beef recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I am not sure how the previous user could only score this one star. I made this recipe on 03/11 for my husband and we had 2 guests for dinner. I made the recipe as is listed. It said serves 8 with 5 1/2 lbs of brisket. THERE WAS NOTHING LEFT!! I even served baby red boiled taters with it. We just could not stop dipping that fork into the meat platter. It was moist and cut like butter. My guest commented cabbage had a great flavor not "saurkrouty". This is a keeper that I will make again soon and not just for St. Paddy's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe and easier than boiling. I use a rack and apple juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Fantastic! Such a difference from regular boiled corned beef. And we absolutely loved the cabbage and apples- I carmelized some onions and added a few teaspoons of apple cider vinegar, then added the cabbage, apples and water. Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is excellent flavor and easy to make. Substitute Granny Smith because that's what I had on hand. Also made a sauce of low fat sour cream and horseradish with a spoon of Dijon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Excellent. The best corned beef I ever cooked. Very tender and tasty. So much easier than my past recipes of boiling on the stove. I found the cabbage very plain. I would use the juices next time to cook the cabbage in. One year later now......... I used the juice to cook the cabbage in still not enough taste for us. Next year I will try opening the foil and adding the potatoes and cabbage in the meat for the last hour. The corned beef was excellent again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States