Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I have tried sooooo many corned beef recipes because I love corned beef, but this by far is the BEST!!! Always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charlotte

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is the best corned beef recipe I've ever had. After finding this recipe my wife, daughter and I all cannot wait for St. Patrick's day to arrive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Shame on you mother! I will never eat boiled corned beef again. My family loves this roast browned over open fire b4 doing the foil packet. Unbelievably barbeque friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Oh my goodness I have been making Corned Beef and Cabbage the same way for years always in my Crockpot. Well I don't think I will ever go back to my Crockpot. This was the BEST EVER!!!! And it was like she said prep time wasn't to bad at all. I made one on Saturday to take to my friends house she made one as well in a Crockpot although hers was good everyone said mine was better. Anyway it was a big hit. Thank You so much for this Recipe. I will be saving this one. CJ Sacramento, CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
My husband was disappointed with the flavor because of the orange. He wants his corned beef to taste like traditional corned beef and this recipe does not. Unfortunately, my not-quite-sure-I-like-corned-beef guests didn't brag on the flavor either. Therefore everyone at the table was a little disappointed at the end of the meal. I won't fix corned beef this way again. I did give it 4 stars because I had everyone rate it at the meal and then threw out the teenagers' ratings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This has been my go to recipe for several years now. Very easy, very tender and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLYJO definitely not a pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was fabulous. My husband said I never had to put the meat in the "hot tub" again. The consistancy and flavor are so much better than the traditional slow cook method in our opinion. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I have always boiled corned beef, but never again! This turned out to be the best I've ever had; and my family couldn't stop eating it. I used the aluminum foil method, but will probably try the cooking bag next time because it just sounds easier. My husband doesn't like fruit of any kind in his main meals, so I left out the orange. I followed the recipe for the apples and cabbage, but replaced the apples with cubed red potatoes, cooking the potatoes first for about 10 minutes. Then I added the cabbage wedges and cooked it about another 15-20 minutes until it was all tender. DEELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This looked wonderful. I made this for St. Patrick's day. Everyone else enjoyed it, I didn't. I gave it two stars because I just didn't like the orange peels, very strong flavor. Although the cooking method was a great Ideal. I used a turkey roasting pan with lid. I added two cups of beef stock, celery, apple and baked for three hours. Then added potatoes next to the meat then covered with a whole head of cut up cabbage. I will make this again, just without the orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was the best Corned Beef and Cabbage I have ever had and my family agrees(ever my husband). I usually make it boiled. But this was so moist and flavorful CB & C. I cook it in a aluminum foil bag (I made with heavy duty foil).Than my corned beef did not come with the pickling spice.So I added 2 bay leaves, 10- whole peppercorns, 8-whole allspice. I followed the recipe exactly, except the last hour I removed the oranges and added the cabbage with the meat. I did not use the apple or margarine. I cooked sweet potatoes separately. It added a real nice touch to the corned beef and cabbage. Surprisingly the corned beef didn't have a real orangery taste. This was So........Delicious! . I will defiantly be making this again and not just once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamstown, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States