Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was my first time making corned beef, and it was great! Very tender, and the vegetables were just right. An easy meal since you don't have to do much while everything is simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I am cooking it as I type and smellsssss sooooooooooo gooooooddddd. Thank u, Knew how but was just so long ago needed a good refresher. learned how to make it Irish style but not at all bland. This is great but if u cut off some of the fat on the back and add a stick or 2 of butter oh my tummyyyyyyyy. again thank u so very much for the refresher. hope little tip works for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I made this exactly as written, which was very easy, and my family loved it. We loved the consistency of the veggies too(not too mushy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
we have corned beef almost every weekend for breakfast with some asparagus and/or some veggie. i put it in the slowcooker the night before with the following. 3 cans guinness, 1 cup pinapple juice, 3tbs honey. i put it on high from around 6-7p until around 11 and then turn it to low until we wake up.. maybe 730a before we head to the beach. take it out of the slowcooker and put it on a plate and let it sit for about 10min. we shred half of it, quick saute it with some fresh organic asparagus that we blanched first and then either eat it on the spot or take it to the beach and eat it.. anyone that has tried it loves it. i put the rest in the fridge and pick at it over the weekend. if you can find black angus prime corned beef its substantially better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
My dinner turned out GREAT!, My aunt took some to work and she got angry for the little I fixed her she had to share, her co-worker loved it! Thank You:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was a solid foundation recipe for me. Having never made nor eaten this dish before, I wasn't sure what to expect. I followed the advice of Cooker476, except for the turnips, by adding beer, garlic, peppercorns and added salt as well I also made the horseradish sauce (with a pinch of salt added) which absolutely made the dish (thanks!)!! At the end I reduced the cooking liquid, added a bay leaf and seasoning and made a gravy that was also delicious with the meat, potatoes and horsey sauce. Overall it was a huge hit in my house, even the kids (6 & 3) gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
This was a hit with my family. Even the three year old ate it. I added some minced garlic cloves for some extra flavor. The vegetables are especially good heated up the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Best corned beef and cabbage recipe yet! I much preferred cooking in the dutch oven over the crock pot. The meat was so tender but you were able to slice it without it falling apart. The veggies were not over done either. The simple recipe was a delicious flavor! I will use this one over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Lovely people, This recipe is wonderful written 'as is' - but I'd like to speak to those of you who are aggravated about people changing up the recipe and then rating it, since 'changing it up' really doesn't give you an accurate review of the recipe as written. I have this to offer: Some of us use what's on-hand rather than going out and buying ingredients specific to the recipe. I find this very helpful on occasion because 1) you might not have to go shopping if you use the substitutes or 2) you can learn a different way to use a spice or other ingredient - which only makes you a better cook. Also - I've found a few recipe reviewers who have taken allergies into consideration. Sometimes those 'change ups' can be invaluable and save time when you don't have to scour the Internet trying to find a way to omit a certain ingredient but still get the full effect of the dish. I, too, am sometimes frustrated with the review system - but if you try to understand where the reviewer is coming from, sometimes you can make a 'just okay' dish into something completely out of your original realm of thinking. Tolerance, folks ... just by the mere fact that people take the time to review dishes, even if they do change them a bit, shows they care enough to share their information with you. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States