Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Cut off the big fat then cover the corn beef with beef broth Add peppercorns, bay leaf and onions to spice packet. Before adding the spice packet, you first bring the meat to a boil and skim the foamy stuff off the top of the water.. cook meat @ 50 min. per lb Take the corned beef out and while the cabbage carrots and pot's are cooking in the liquid, Add some Caraway seeds when you add the cabbage. Glaze for brisket Put the brisket in the oven for 30 minutes with this sauce that I combine on the stove until smooth. 1/3 cup of brown sugar,2 tblsp of butter tlbs. of prepared mustard, 1/3 cup of ketchup, and 3 tblsp of apple cider vinegar. I combine these ingredients till smooth, then pour over the brisket while the veggies are cooking. 30 to 40 mins. at 350 will do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Super great and way to celebrate our Irish holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Rabon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yosemite National Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McGregor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Calhoun, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
The most tender I've ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is the best and easiest corn beef recipe out there! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
basic recipe, but I had no changes, thus the five. The carrots and potatoes are delicious in the corned beef water which gives them a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHWEEZY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kirtland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used this as my base recipe, but I added peppercorns and three cloves of garlic, smashed, to the pot while the corned beef cooked. I cooked it for 50 minutes per pound in the liquid on the stovetop, then I put it in the oven for one hour and baked. It came out wonderful. my mom adds brown sugar for the oven baking part of the process, but I didn't want the added sugar. I cooked the cabbage and potatoes and carrots in the liquid while the corned beef cooked in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made it for the first time on St. Patrick's day! It was sooo good! All people in the family loved it! A must - try dish! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Great recipe, and so easy for we novices! I'm going to add apples to the potatoe/carrot/onion/cabbage mix the next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is the most delicious meal ever. Following tracey's suggestions of making a sauce from butter, brown sugar, catsup and apple cider vinegar it was fabulous. After the corned beef is done place it in an ovenproof dish, pour the sauce over and while the vegetables cook in the broth, bake the sauce covered corned beef at 350 for 30 minutes. Slice the meat and return to dish and serve the vegetables on another platter. This was absolutely fabulous. My guests couldn’t stop complimenting or eating. Not your mom’s meatloaf for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States