Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe easily becomes 5-star with some of the suggestions others have made: throw in some onion and garlic, replace some (or all) of the water with beer. However, I do NOT recommend replacing the water with beef/chicken broth the way others mentioned. Corned beef is so salty to begin with. I tried using a beer and beef broth mixture, and the saltiness of the meat was excessive, so I will not make that mistake again. In fact, next time I might leave out the spice packet and create a lower-sodium mixture of my own to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Oh, except I changed a million things. By the time it was finished, it was an entirely different meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Perfect! Follow the directions and it will turn out perfectly. I added my potatoes and carrots after 2 1/2 hours for a 3# brisket. 30 minutes later, I added the cabbage along with salt, pepper, celery salt & seed. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Great! My husband said he could eat this once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This one is really good. This recipe here is the best just the way it is. Thank you Laria for sharing YOUR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lipsius Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I realize this recipe is very basic but the timing of the vegetables is what makes it amazing. My family always boiled everything together for the same length of time which makes the veggies and potatoes mushy. My Grandma recently passed away and I have taken over the traditional dinners which I've never really made before. This recipe has given me a whole new take on corned beef and cabbage. The cabbage is perfect after 15-20 min. and the broth is amazing, I like to use the leftover broth for a good soup or stew, just refrigerate overnight and skim the hard fat off, add whatever you like and voila! Thanks Laria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made this today. Added one beef bouillion cube, a bay leaf, garlic and onion powder and ten peppercorns in addition to the flavor packet. Otherwise followed the recipe. The family loved it. Will have leftovers tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Everything is okay until the total lack of onions. One onion, white or yellow, medium small per person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
If you are not a HEAVY salt person, always rinse the cornded beef very well. It has been brining in mega doses of salt. I rinse, then pre cook for 40 min then continue the rest of the process. Oops 30 min pre cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I'm Irish. VERY Irish. And this is my GO TO recipe for corned beef and cabbage. I only gave it 3 stars, so why is it my Go To?? I gave it 3 stars based on how it tastes as-is. It's my Go To because it keeps the recipe simple. Here's the thing - you don't have to do anything fancy to make amazing, over-the-top corned beef and cabbage. People think it needs to be complicated. It doesn't!! The ONLY thing I added and it makes a HUGE difference - 1/2 jar of McCormick Pickling Spice. I forgot this ingredient once and never will again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States