Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by rachaelsee
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great recipe - nice and easy and turned out great! I added an onion and 1tsp. minced garlic to water while boiling/simmering meat. I used one of those metal ball thingies to put the pickling spices in since I didn't buy a packaged meat that comes with spice packet. Plus, I don't like all those spices floating all over my meat and veggies and then trying to eat around them. I had a 2.72 lb piece of meat and put on for 2.5 hours. At 2 hours I added the potatoes and carrots, cooked for 15 minutes and then added cabbage and cooked until cabbage was desired texture/doneness (another 15 minutes). Wallah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious and easy, I added an Oxo cube after reading another review that said to use beef broth. A winner for St. Patrick''s Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was the first time I have ever attempted Corned Beef & Cabbage and this recipe was AMAZING! It was easy to make too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this as stated and did not make changes. I boiled the corned beef for 2 hrs. on the stove top and then put in the carrots/potatoes/cabbage wedges and cooked another 1 hr. in the oven at 350. Everything was moist and done to perfection. This was a very enjoyable meal and I served it with brown mustard/horseradish blend. Happy St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I didn't actually make this but nobody else who reviewed it seems to have either. This is the most recipe rewriting I have seen in any review. I read 12 reviews and finally gave up as they all were telling about how they make theirs, not about this recipe. Very disappointing. I am heading back to the pressure cooker instructions for this evening's meal. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A bit salty for our taste but I blame the product, not the recipe. Next time I will simmer 30 mins by itself and drain the salty water off and then continue with the recipe. I used a 22oz Guinness Extra Stout and then enough water to cover the meat. I also added a bay leaf, I usually do with long simmer cooks of just about anything. Along with the carrots and potatoes, I added a large parsnip prepared the same as the carrots and a little bit of garlic. When adding the veggies I took the meat out and placed on a roasting pan in a 300* oven. When adding the cabbage 45 mins later I wrapped the meat in foil and took it out of the oven. Very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtmiller15
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was my first time having corned beef. I don't like it so much personally but I made this dish for Saint Patricks day and my family thought it was perfect. The only change I made was that I cooked the cabbage separately at the end with 1/4 cup of butter, broth from meat and veggies, and chicken broth. It tasted really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Just like the way I have always made it. I do save two cups of the juice and add 1/4 cup of cold water with two heaping tablespoons cornstarch. Bring to boil and season for gravy, much better than just juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe without any changes. My husband and I LOVED it!! Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very good recipe! I should have listened and not added cut up russet potatoes, as they fell apart before the cabbage and carrots were done cooking... my bad... next time I will use baby reds. Used 4 cans of beer (3 miller lites and a sam lager). Really added flavor. Also added extra garlic because we love it. Also doubled the cabbage and carrots for fried leftovers the next day. Thanks Laria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States