Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made this as stated and did not make changes. I boiled the corned beef for 2 hrs. on the stove top and then put in the carrots/potatoes/cabbage wedges and cooked another 1 hr. in the oven at 350. Everything was moist and done to perfection. This was a very enjoyable meal and I served it with brown mustard/horseradish blend. Happy St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I didn't actually make this but nobody else who reviewed it seems to have either. This is the most recipe rewriting I have seen in any review. I read 12 reviews and finally gave up as they all were telling about how they make theirs, not about this recipe. Very disappointing. I am heading back to the pressure cooker instructions for this evening's meal. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A bit salty for our taste but I blame the product, not the recipe. Next time I will simmer 30 mins by itself and drain the salty water off and then continue with the recipe. I used a 22oz Guinness Extra Stout and then enough water to cover the meat. I also added a bay leaf, I usually do with long simmer cooks of just about anything. Along with the carrots and potatoes, I added a large parsnip prepared the same as the carrots and a little bit of garlic. When adding the veggies I took the meat out and placed on a roasting pan in a 300* oven. When adding the cabbage 45 mins later I wrapped the meat in foil and took it out of the oven. Very good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mtmiller15
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was my first time having corned beef. I don't like it so much personally but I made this dish for Saint Patricks day and my family thought it was perfect. The only change I made was that I cooked the cabbage separately at the end with 1/4 cup of butter, broth from meat and veggies, and chicken broth. It tasted really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Just like the way I have always made it. I do save two cups of the juice and add 1/4 cup of cold water with two heaping tablespoons cornstarch. Bring to boil and season for gravy, much better than just juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe without any changes. My husband and I LOVED it!! Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Very good recipe! I should have listened and not added cut up russet potatoes, as they fell apart before the cabbage and carrots were done cooking... my bad... next time I will use baby reds. Used 4 cans of beer (3 miller lites and a sam lager). Really added flavor. Also added extra garlic because we love it. Also doubled the cabbage and carrots for fried leftovers the next day. Thanks Laria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Unbelievably easy, unbelievably good! Even more unbelievable, my husband actually requested a repeat of this, even though his first opinion of having Corned Beef was not met with much enthusiasm. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreeneyedAmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe easily becomes 5-star with some of the suggestions others have made: throw in some onion and garlic, replace some (or all) of the water with beer. However, I do NOT recommend replacing the water with beef/chicken broth the way others mentioned. Corned beef is so salty to begin with. I tried using a beer and beef broth mixture, and the saltiness of the meat was excessive, so I will not make that mistake again. In fact, next time I might leave out the spice packet and create a lower-sodium mixture of my own to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Oh, except I changed a million things. By the time it was finished, it was an entirely different meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States