Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Lovely people, This recipe is wonderful written 'as is' - but I'd like to speak to those of you who are aggravated about people changing up the recipe and then rating it, since 'changing it up' really doesn't give you an accurate review of the recipe as written. I have this to offer: Some of us use what's on-hand rather than going out and buying ingredients specific to the recipe. I find this very helpful on occasion because 1) you might not have to go shopping if you use the substitutes or 2) you can learn a different way to use a spice or other ingredient - which only makes you a better cook. Also - I've found a few recipe reviewers who have taken allergies into consideration. Sometimes those 'change ups' can be invaluable and save time when you don't have to scour the Internet trying to find a way to omit a certain ingredient but still get the full effect of the dish. I, too, am sometimes frustrated with the review system - but if you try to understand where the reviewer is coming from, sometimes you can make a 'just okay' dish into something completely out of your original realm of thinking. Tolerance, folks ... just by the mere fact that people take the time to review dishes, even if they do change them a bit, shows they care enough to share their information with you. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So easy to make & tastes unbelievable !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I used this recipe to make my first corned beef & cabbage. Only change I made was adding beer to the cooking liquid. I was very pleased with the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a really simple and balanced recipe. I have served this three times already this year and I have always received very happy responses from my potential victims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Very bland and the cabbage seemed underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made it with the beer and I don't know if that made any difference, but it was really good and my boyfriend raved and had seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Corned beef was excellent. Potatoes, carrots & cabbage were just OK, but I think that's just a personal opinion. Would make again using just the meat & use for reuben sandwiches! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is a great base recipe. I would have liked it as is, but my hubby likes more flavor so I tweaked it a bit. After cooking the meat I removed it from pot, added some sliced onions, turned up heat to medium and boiled until liquid was reduced by about half. Then added a can of beef consommé and cooked veges as directed in recipe, sliced beef and added back to pot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachaelsee
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great recipe - nice and easy and turned out great! I added an onion and 1tsp. minced garlic to water while boiling/simmering meat. I used one of those metal ball thingies to put the pickling spices in since I didn't buy a packaged meat that comes with spice packet. Plus, I don't like all those spices floating all over my meat and veggies and then trying to eat around them. I had a 2.72 lb piece of meat and put on for 2.5 hours. At 2 hours I added the potatoes and carrots, cooked for 15 minutes and then added cabbage and cooked until cabbage was desired texture/doneness (another 15 minutes). Wallah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States