Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used KIMMY28's adaptation to make this recipe, with the mushrooms and beef broth and whatnot. I will admit, I forgot about the food cooking on the stove and let it simmer quite a bit longer than recommended, finally pulling it off the stove late in the evening. As the cook had been so long I'd fed the kids something else for dinner. The next morning, somewhat dubious, I pulled the pot from the fridge, pulled a potato from the liquid, and popped it in my mouth. I actually squealed with delight, did a little happy dance, and finger fed from the pot for a period of time. Highly recommend this recipe, 5 star, very good and going into rotation at our house. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I had always been wanting to try something like this. I made this for St. Patty's Day. I took the advice of others & added beer (mickey's). And I removed the corned beef when I added the cabbage for the last 15mins. (But, that was more my hubby was hungry & wanted to eat in 15mins not 15 mins for the cabbage & 15 for the beef to rest!) This was soooo YUMMY! I couldn't believe I made this! The entire family ate this without complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This worked perfectly. The beef came out so tender you could cut it with a fork! will use this recipe again and highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TedeeBear79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I will make this recipe every St. Patrick's Day and will change nothing in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome! I have never made corned beef and cabbage so I was pretty nervous! But it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I fixed this 4 times in March. I do believe that it is the best Corned beef and Cabbage recipe. I have a very good Irish friend of 75 yrs old and she told me it was the best she ever had...and preceded to tell it to the owners of a 100 yr old Irish deli and store. I cooked it in only guiness beer and beef broth. Added peppercorns, bay leaf and onions. When the meat was tender I removed it from the pot and glazed it with a tart Orange marmalade, brown mustard and brown sugar glaze and wrapped in foil and put it in the oven. Then I strained the broth, then added the potatoes and carrots and a stick of butter. I cooked the cabbage (I used savoy cabbage) in a separate skillet, braising it in the broth with butter until cooked but still crispy. Made a Horseradish sauce of 3/4 sour cream, 1/4 horseradish, 1 tlbs dried chives and the juice of 1/2 lemon. This recipe will impress anyone you serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent. Also added a couple of bay leaves, some whole peppercorns and quartered onion. Tender and delicious. I like to take that cabbage and chop it and use it for the Heritage Irish Cabbage before serving. I make it while the meat is resting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This I my first time with corned beef. Everything had a good flavor, but I found the meat to have a bit of a rubbery texture. I assume that's from being boiled???? Boy friend loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Followed the directions exactly, except for adding one can of beer with the water. Everything turned out fantastic! The meat was melt in your mouth perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States