Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made it with a slight variation. I added a bottle of Ale Irish beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I have never made OR ate corned beef and cabbage EVER. As one reviewer suggested, I added 1 can of beer; then water to cover; I added 6 garlic cloves and 1 bay leaf. I also took their advice and added the potatoes and carrots 1 hour before the brisket was ready ;then cabbage and onions 40 min. Til it was done. My friends who love corned beef and cabbage said it was the best they have ever had. Will be making this again next st.patricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I've been cooking for over 50 years now, and this is the BEST corned beef I've ever made! Followed suggestions from other reviewers about adding onion, and especially adding the glaze for the last 40 minutes in the oven. I'll never make it any other way. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty closely and agree that the addition of extra vegetables reduces saltiness, and makes for delicious veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Perfect! Easy and deliscious. The only way to make corned beef and cabbage! Made exactly as recipe states, added cabbage one hour before meat done. Everything perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I was very disappointed in this recipe. There is NO WAY this can be cooked in and hour per pound!!! My beef was tough. Not good. Adding carrots, cabbage, and potatoes isn't anything special. I used the reviews to tailor it a bit and added a bottle of spring wheat ale, VERY good, and instead of adding more water to keep it covered I used beef stock. Next year, I will do exactly the same only start at 10am with a CROCKPOT to quarantee tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
a great St. Patrick's day dinner excellent... I honestly don't know if I liked the corn beef or the cabbage more... cooked cabbage flavored with corn beef broth is just excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Best corned beef. I am now enjoying the best corned beef sandwich (leftovers) I ever had. I cooked with one can of Budweiser beer and the rest water, and two tablespoons of pickling spice. I took out the beef when it was done, wrapped it in aluminum foil and kept warm in the oven, while I cooked the veggies in the broth. Sooooo good, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Corned Beef & Cabbage is not my thing, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I tired this recipe today, using a can of beer and unsalted beef broth, and making my own pickling spice mix. It was the best corned beef and cabbage I have ever made. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Onlystone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States