Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
HANDS DOWN THE BEST Corned Beef and Cabbage I have ever tasted. I followed the ingredients to the "T". The only thing I changed was I put the beef on the bottom of the Crockpot, then the water mixture, then the veggies (minus the cabbage) then I added more water so the beef was completely covered, then I topped with the cabbage. I cooked mine for 10 hours and it w falling apart by the time I had to cut it. I actually sliced it up with a butter knife. HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
664 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Great recipe, only, I put the corned beef on the bottom, red potatoes and whole carrots cut in 3 pieces on the top. I used 3 cups (or enough to cover the meat) of apple juice instead of water, (no vingar or sugar) what a difference!! I also use the Reynolds slow cooker liners for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
493 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was a really good no fuss recipe - however the part of the roast that wasnt in liquid did not cook and was really tough so for dinner I just flipped it over, we ate from what was tender and then I just popped the top back on the crock pot and cooked it for another hours or so. With left overs I made corned beef hash - my husband had never had it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I must agree, how do you fit everything in? I was only able to fit the cabbage, corned beef, and potatoes. And I was only able to fit the potatoes after 2 hours of cooking and the cabbage had become soft. Was going to cook the carrots separately but I got drunk and thought, "Screw it, no one here likes carrots anyways". Other than that...turned out awesome. My husband was all, "YUM!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Drunken Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made this recipe last night and followed the instructions exactly, except used a 7-qt slow cooker and added a tad bit more water. I also cooked it on high the first two hours, then switched to low for five hours. The results were fantastic! I was cooking this meal for my husband and a few of his friends and they all agreed it was the best corned beef they have ever had. They couldn't stop eating it and they were so full by the end that they could barely move. I guess that is a good sign...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPECK03
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe was, exactly as stated, very no-fuss and very good. Out of necessity, I did alter the recipe slightly. In place of the cider vinegar I used red wine vinegar, since that is what I had on hand. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 tsp-just couldn't bring myself to add that much sugar. And due to lack of space in the crockpot, I had to make the potatoes on the side. Also, I added additional water - enough to cover the brisket. Cooked on high for 6 hours this was nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
this is good, but if you hold off on adding the cabbage until the last half hour or so and use canned new potatoes it can be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
First of all, I have never cooked corned beef and cabbage before trying this recipe. It was fantastic with the following considrations: There is no way all of the ingredients will fit into a 5 quart slow cooker unless you have a sledge hammer. I ended up cooking half the carrots and potatoes seperately. Since we like spicy foods, I added red pepper and extra black pepper. With extra cooking volume, it ended up great and will do it many time in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Very easy and the results were delicious. For me, cooking corned beef in the crock pot does require the addition of the additional spices, garlic, vinegar, etc. as well as the spice packet that comes with the brisket. Just seemed to need the extra flavoring for all those hours of slow cooking. My crock pot wasn't big enough to hold everything, so I just added the carrots with the meat. I cooked the potatoes and cabbage before the meal. Family loved it... thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very simple to prepare, and the time was correct, the meat was perfectly done, and very tender! I've never added vinegar and sugar to a corned beef recipe before, but followed the recipe exactly. I didn't care for the slightly "tangy" taste it gave the vegetables. I'll make again, but omit the vinegar and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States