Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was a really good no fuss recipe - however the part of the roast that wasnt in liquid did not cook and was really tough so for dinner I just flipped it over, we ate from what was tender and then I just popped the top back on the crock pot and cooked it for another hours or so. With left overs I made corned beef hash - my husband had never had it and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPECK03
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This recipe was, exactly as stated, very no-fuss and very good. Out of necessity, I did alter the recipe slightly. In place of the cider vinegar I used red wine vinegar, since that is what I had on hand. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 tsp-just couldn't bring myself to add that much sugar. And due to lack of space in the crockpot, I had to make the potatoes on the side. Also, I added additional water - enough to cover the brisket. Cooked on high for 6 hours this was nicely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
First of all, I have never cooked corned beef and cabbage before trying this recipe. It was fantastic with the following considrations: There is no way all of the ingredients will fit into a 5 quart slow cooker unless you have a sledge hammer. I ended up cooking half the carrots and potatoes seperately. Since we like spicy foods, I added red pepper and extra black pepper. With extra cooking volume, it ended up great and will do it many time in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
not a keeper. the sweet and sour from the vinegar and sugar left us cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
WOW! The beef was so tender and perfect! I added celery and used onion powder instead of onion and it was fabulous. Can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
HANDS DOWN THE BEST Corned Beef and Cabbage I have ever tasted. I followed the ingredients to the "T". The only thing I changed was I put the beef on the bottom of the Crockpot, then the water mixture, then the veggies (minus the cabbage) then I added more water so the beef was completely covered, then I topped with the cabbage. I cooked mine for 10 hours and it w falling apart by the time I had to cut it. I actually sliced it up with a butter knife. HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
664 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jancsek Bonk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I prepared this recipe for work, and it was a big hit. I am now the cook of the company...thanks for making my job easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
We liked the recipe. We added about a cup and a half extra of water to cover the meat and about 1/4t of ground mustard. I thought the meat wasn't as flavorful as it could have been but my husband disagreed and liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was wonderful! I used new red potatoes with skins and regular carrot sticks. Definitely cover meat with liquid. Also, we split into two crock pots to handle the space issue...WAY more roomy. Keep in mind the meat shrinks A LOT! I would've cooked more meat for my group...next time! DEFinitely a keeper. Also, no spice pack with my meat--probably a good thing--it wasn't salty like others I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLovesCookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Not for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States