Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I've been making corned beef and cabbage on the stovetop for years, but for some reason never tried it in the crockpot. Then I tried this recipe, and had an a-ha moment! Of course the corned beef is going to be more moist and flavorful if slow cooked, duh! I actually didn't have a spice packet in the corned beef I bought, so I used 2 TBS. McKormick pickling spice instead. I also doubled the water so the corned beef was covered with liquid while cooking. Other than that I followed the recipe, and it turned out great. My only complaint was that the vegetables didn't have quite enough flavor, so I might add some kosher salt to the water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMISSNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patsy Castillo
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Overall The Corned Beef was Moist & Great But Not Pleased with how Soft & Mushy the Cabbage was. I Think Next Time I will add The Cabbage the Last Hour of Cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Castillo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I thought I was going to love this recipe. I didn't, because the garlic and bay leaf over powered the potatoes and cabbage. I should have stuck to my tried and true chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Simple and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Tender and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
this recipe is great! really yummy - even my 4-year old and 2-year old loved the corned beef. definitely go for the flat cut. i made the recipe exactly as it reads, and i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Tried as printed and it was the worst St. Patty's day dinner I have ever prepared. My husband hated it and griped, griped, griped. Carrots, cabbage and potatoes had a taste I didn't care for. Took away some of the natural flavor of the corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used this recipe and Cindy's "Corned Beef and Cabbage II" method of cooking tonight. I'll never fix corned beef any other way again. This was amazing. Thanks for an awesome recipe Karen Waters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Good taste. I purchased the smallest brisket I could find. I left out the cabbage until the brisket had cooked 5 hours. I also used two cups of water and a substituted a bottle of beer for the third cup. The family seemed pretty pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I agree with many other reviewers when I say that this is possibly the best version of the traditional corned beef meal I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States