Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good corned beef and cabbage! I doubled the liquid portion so that the brisket, potatoes, and carrots would be covered. I also waited until the last hour to add the cabbage, but should have added it a bit sooner because it was still crunchy when we ate dinner. I thought the flavor was great but my guests asked for ketchup and more cider vinegar...so maybe something was lacking. Regardless, I will make this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good, next time I would add more water so that the cabage was also in the water because the cabage got pretty shriveled. Also cooking for 12 hours was too long in my opinion, the vegetables were completely falling apart just scooping them on the plate. This recipe is a very easy recipe and my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very delicious! I used a bottle of Guinness as a substitute for half of the water, and it was outstanding! I like how this recipe has you put the cabbage on top of everything so it won't wilt. I tried a different slow cooker corned beef recipe last year that had you put the cabbage in with all the other veggies, and it was gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very yummy. Only 4 stars because I like my cabbage and carrots to retain their form. With veggies cooking 8 hours they are like soup. I cooked the meat 1st and then added the veggies for the last 1.5 hours. The cabbage was still a little too soggy but the carrots were perfect. I was cooking for a crowd so I baked the potatoes separately. I seared my meat before cooking which helps to lock in the moisture. I also cut back on the sugar and vinegar and used 1/2 water and 1/2 apple juice and made sure the meat stayed covered. Great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I'm rating it a four because I didn't do the sugar, vinegar and bay leaf...which is probably what makes this different from all the other corned beef recipes. And I also didn't add the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Made in the crock pot with only the onion for the vegetable (I make the cabbage/potatoes differently). Turned out great. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Excellent exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaWI
Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I've been missing the corned beef and cabbage I used to eat when I lived back home in Chicago. I'd never made it before, but I found this recipe and decided to make it to bring to my team at work for St Patrick's Day. It was a huge hit...and made me miss Chicago a little less...:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this for St. Paddy's this year, and it was quite good. The corned beef turned out very well. The veggies, especially the cabbage were a bit soft for my taste, so I think I'll add them the last hour. The cabbage was not pretty and was too soft, so I may cook that on the side next time. All in all, easy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this for a crowd at my sister's on St. Patty's Day. It was a huge hit. Made one in a crockpot and one in the oven. Oven turned out better but crockpot may not have been working right. The flavors melded together beautifully. I will never make corned beef any other way. Works great the next day as a soup. I'm making a third one tonight for my family since they weren't happy that the leftover stayed at my sisters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States